Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2004, 12:46 PM
technoboxx2003 technoboxx2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 15
Default how can I sort RTAS plugins in alphabetical order

how can I sort RTAS plugins in alphabetical order.

Anyone had made it...
__________________
Brazilian User
DaveC: 32T+9Aux MBOX
A7V8X-X, 2600+, AGP 8X 64MB, 512MB, 40GB+120GB
VST2RTAS User
*don't use a Celeron or Duron processors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2004, 12:49 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: how can I sort RTAS plugins in alphabetical order

You make a subfolder in the plug-ins folder for each plug-in with the name of the folder the same, or similar, to the name of the plug-in. You drag the plug-ins from the DAE Plug-ins folder to the appropriate subfolder. - bring both the .dpm and the .dpm.rsr. They will now appear in alphabetical order.

You can use this trick to create an ordered list not necessareily in alphabetical - e.g. make subfolders called Reverb1, reverb 2 etc and put a reverb in each. They will display next to each in the PT insert drop down AND will have the original name - not the one you created.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2004, 01:03 PM
Lalaman Lalaman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: how can I sort RTAS plugins in alphabetical order

You can bet this idea will be enjoyed by many people.
I said it once already somewhere, Cliffy is a clever boy.

I won´t be using PT too often anymore, but anyway, thanks for the idea!

Lalaman
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2004, 02:26 PM
Rabidium Rabidium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 763
Default Re: how can I sort RTAS plugins in alphabetical order

Quote:

I won´t be using PT too often anymore, but anyway, thanks for the idea!

Found something better?
__________________
I guess I'm back.
www.byOlaf.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2004, 02:55 PM
Lalaman Lalaman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: how can I sort RTAS plugins in alphabetical order

Hi Rabi,

Yep, Samplitude. Considered best sounding algo there is, stable, versatile, no loss on processing. Combined with a card like Lynx2 there is top converting and very flexible standalone mixer. ( Although I wasn´t in practical need of its A/Ds yet. I use mainly other convertors as long as it is about two channels only. Its D/A comes in handy here however already for monitoring during outboard processing.)

Greets,

Lalaman
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2004, 06:10 PM
cyberstudio cyberstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Katowice, Poland
Posts: 147
Default Re: how can I sort RTAS plugins in alphabetical order

thanx a lot Cliffy! I will stick with PTLE, will check your tip tommorow. (I belive:)
z.
__________________
c y b e r s t u d i o
P O L A N D
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-2004, 11:38 PM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: how can I sort RTAS plugins in alphabetical order

The workaround with subfolders do NOT work with Waves plugins however, since they have a shell.
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-12-2004, 12:57 AM
Pro-Tools-User Pro-Tools-User is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 59
Default Re: how can I sort RTAS plugins in alphabetical order

Quote:
Hi Rabi,

Yep, Samplitude. Considered best sounding algo there is, stable, versatile, no loss on processing. Combined with a card like Lynx2 there is top converting and very flexible standalone mixer. ( Although I wasn´t in practical need of its A/Ds yet. I use mainly other convertors as long as it is about two channels only. Its D/A comes in handy here however already for monitoring during outboard processing.)

Greets,

Lalaman
Just some questions about Samplitude, is there a free trial demo??
How many playlists will it allow on each track ???
Is there a built in click ?
Is the midi implimentation more extensive than PTLE ???
Does it time stamp regions?
Full Pluggin Automation on ALL parameters??? VSTi ??? DX ??? RTAS ????
Auxillary and master channel Automation ?
How do you get arounf the real time Low latency monitoring through the application?


Just Curious??
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-12-2004, 04:12 AM
Lalaman Lalaman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: how can I sort RTAS plugins in alphabetical order

Quote:

Just some questions about Samplitude, is there a free trial demo??
How many playlists will it allow on each track ???
Is there a built in click ?
Is the midi implimentation more extensive than PTLE ???
Does it time stamp regions?
Full Pluggin Automation on ALL parameters??? VSTi ??? DX ??? RTAS ????
Auxillary and master channel Automation ?
How do you get arounf the real time Low latency monitoring through the application?


Just Curious??
Hello PT-User,

What I think to know so far:

There is a demo on Magix website. However it is a very small file only. That will certainly mean that the demo is so limited that it would hardly serve to explore the application sufficiently.

Q#2 It provides 999 tracks and 64 aux
Q#3 Yes
Q#4 Can´t say, havn´t used its midi functions yet
Q#5 Yes
Q#6 Yes, if I´m right. However, some of the Waves plugins functions like undo e.g. don´t show up, at least in version 7.1
Q#7 Version 7.2 has full latency compensation

Here is a discription. It is from a commercial website, but what is being said is no hype. Also if you make a search on other boards you will find a lot of user impressions.

So far about the goodies.
Inconveniences in Samplitude that fall into my mind are:

No mentioning of the action under "undo", you need to look it up under the undo history.
While you click on FX knobs during play it can happen that the FX brakes down yielding an ugly loud digital hiss. It get´s back to order though when you close and reopen the FX window, no need to shut the host down.

Most inbuild effects are destructive. You gotta doublicate the region / object first.

Seems also you can´t determine the order of inbuild FXs on the master fader.

Independently of how you name the regions they stay labeled in the internal code, so that you have no way to recognize them when trying to organize within their folder. If I want to get rid of superfluous takes I safe the whole VIP without the files not seen in the session to achieve the goal. ( Might well be though that there is a better way to do, like with all that I´m saying here.)

It also happens that the aplication loses the driver path and you need to check whether it is still on ASIO or might have switched to another version.

One of the many things I like however is for instance that you can place the cursor anywhere in the time line without losing a highlited section. When you want the cursor back to run from start of the highlited passage you just doubleclick into the marked part of the timeline.

This relates to ver. 7.1. From what I hear the newest update however must be improved quite some and has added some features.

Lalaman
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-13-2004, 06:18 AM
technoboxx2003 technoboxx2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 15
Default Re: how can I sort RTAS plugins in alphabetical order

Thanks guys about the sort thread !!!

Another tip:

I have two DAWS in my home studio.
DAW protoos 6.1.1
MOBO ASUS A7V8X-X, ATHLON XP2600+ 512 MB, 30 + 80GB
DAW Nuendo 2.1
MOBO ASUS A7V8X-X, ATHLON XP2600+ 256 MB, 40GB

Nuendo is a great software for MIDI and Virtual instruments (VSTi). The MIDI interface is wonderfull, you can see all patches of you synths (virtuals or keys and racks). It's very easy to edit and make MIDI sequences.

Both software are synchronized by a MTC (MIDI TIME CODE ) with a simple MIDI cable in the on board MPU401. So both DAW are started at the same time.

It's very stable, and very cheap solution.

I have dedicated the protools to finalize the session, just for audio, and I use Nuendo for pre production MIDI and tone generator.

When I finalize a production, I make the waves, exporting direct to the disk, from nuendo. The machines are connected thru Ethernet cable. So I import the waves to protools and make the final job.

I have tested also, on the second machine, with a second DIGI001, and it works also. So I have two protools sessions, with 64 tracks...

Is there anyone who made it ?
__________________
Brazilian User
DaveC: 32T+9Aux MBOX
A7V8X-X, 2600+, AGP 8X 64MB, 512MB, 40GB+120GB
VST2RTAS User
*don't use a Celeron or Duron processors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sort PLugins by manufacturer crashes PT9 alx002 macOS 1 03-24-2012 01:13 PM
Can I mix TDM and RTAS plug-ins in any order?? bobo mark Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 10-08-2005 08:32 PM
Isit possible to sort plugins your own way in 6.4? Stillborn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-26-2004 01:12 PM
Web administrator - note an odd error in sort order, word wrap failure steve at Your Heaven Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 09-18-2002 11:13 AM
Off Topic: Sounds in alphabetical order?... Mr T 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-07-2001 03:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com