Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-24-2020, 09:05 AM
DaveGross DaveGross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 62
Default Import audio from video bug?

V2020.12.0 Video/Audio import bug??? In this new version, one thing to note (and check if you can)... when you drag/drop an MP4 or other video onto the video track from the finder, with the ‘import audio’ button checked, it will ONLY import the audio into the region bin, but DOES NOT create a new track and sync the audio file to the video there... The previous version did create the new track. Am I missing something? Thanks.

Dave Gross
HelldogMusic.com
__________________
dg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-25-2020, 02:14 AM
c-arts c-arts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vienna/Austria - Europe
Posts: 51
Default Re: Import audio from video bug?

Kind of similar problem here:

When I drag a MP4 or import via "import" the message: Create another track pop ups.

But then nothing happens - no new track and no MP4 was added.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-25-2020, 04:45 AM
DaveGross DaveGross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 62
Default Re: Import audio from video bug?

C-arts, create a new Video Track first.. Then drag the Mp4/movie on it. That will bring the movie in for sure. Make sure Import Audio is checked when it asks.. See if the audio just shows up in your region bin (the movie should be there using your method as well). It's just not creating the new track. I'm on the latest Catalina OS, btw. Thanks!
__________________
dg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2020, 10:37 AM
mspin's Avatar
mspin mspin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 160
Default Re: Import audio from video bug?

I am trying to bounce the video and only the audio bounces. Not the video. This is after I have the video and import audio is checked on way in. Something more I need to do so the entire video bounces?
__________________
IMAC 4 ghz Quad Core Intel i7. 512 SSD Internal + 512 external SSD drive for sessions. 32 gigs ram
UAD 2 Apollo Quad core
Pro Tools 2021.3.1
MAC OSX Big Sur
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-26-2020, 10:54 AM
DaveGross DaveGross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 62
Default Re: Import audio from video bug?

mmmm.. I think that's one of the things that doesn't work in 2020.11. Even in 2020.12, they're still working on it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2020-12-26 at 10.52.49 AM.jpg (36.1 KB, 0 views)
__________________
dg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-26-2020, 03:53 PM
mspin's Avatar
mspin mspin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 160
Default Re: Import audio from video bug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveGross View Post
mmmm.. I think that's one of the things that doesn't work in 2020.11. Even in 2020.12, they're still working on it.
Figured as much. Hopefully soon....
__________________
IMAC 4 ghz Quad Core Intel i7. 512 SSD Internal + 512 external SSD drive for sessions. 32 gigs ram
UAD 2 Apollo Quad core
Pro Tools 2021.3.1
MAC OSX Big Sur
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-27-2020, 07:34 AM
DaveGross DaveGross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 62
Default Re: Import audio from video bug?

OK.. Interesting..my Post template has a video track in it. Today, I tried the options to Create a New Video track when draging the MP4. I also told it to delete tho old one from the session.. Viola! The Audio imported AND created a new track.. Anyone else wanna verify this workflow?
__________________
dg
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-27-2020, 03:40 PM
mspin's Avatar
mspin mspin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 160
Default Re: Import audio from video bug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveGross View Post
OK.. Interesting..my Post template has a video track in it. Today, I tried the options to Create a New Video track when draging the MP4. I also told it to delete tho old one from the session.. Viola! The Audio imported AND created a new track.. Anyone else wanna verify this workflow?
I had no problem importing the audio with the video. The problem is bouncing the video to disk. It ONLY bounces the audio. I believe the beta confirms it is a work in progress for Quicktime functionality. This should be relatively quick to have full functionality for Quicktime at this point. Hopefully in January 2021.....
__________________
IMAC 4 ghz Quad Core Intel i7. 512 SSD Internal + 512 external SSD drive for sessions. 32 gigs ram
UAD 2 Apollo Quad core
Pro Tools 2021.3.1
MAC OSX Big Sur
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-27-2020, 03:44 PM
DaveGross DaveGross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 62
Default Re: Import audio from video bug?

Well yeah. Just going back to the original point of my thread ������
__________________
dg
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-29-2020, 03:03 PM
DaveGross DaveGross is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 62
Default Re: Import audio from video bug?

and I can totally confirm..if there is NO existing Video Track in your ProTools session, Drag/Drop a movie file acts as expected.. Creates a Video AND Audio track for the imported audio.
__________________
dg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Import - Audio longer than video - help please anguswoodhead Post - Surround - Video 5 12-23-2019 01:35 AM
Import Video - Audio Import Option Disabled sarcanon Pro Tools 12 2 06-14-2016 05:12 PM
How to import video audio TaylorT Tips & Tricks 2 03-12-2008 07:09 PM
Import Audio From Video Problem mars 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 09-04-2007 09:50 AM
import audio from video in PT 7.2 Ted Blaisdell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-23-2006 01:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com