Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2001, 07:31 PM
Randy Cobb Randy Cobb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 11
Default Real Time E-drum Problems

Howdy!
My drummer just hooked-up his new Yamaha
"V-DRUMS." and we have a TIME PROBLEM !
Is it me, or is there "latency" at work here? How do I deal with this? Just want to play in "real time!"
THANX!
(733 G4, 1GIG RAM, 60 & 76 gig hd.)
(ps- "EAT DESSERT FIRST!")
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2001, 08:33 PM
accession accession is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: On the road again... (Australia)
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Real Time E-drum Problems

Hi Randy,

Your question interests me as I'm seriously considering the Roland PD-6 VDrums kit. As a trained drummer, an actual kit (rather than a MIDI keyboard) is the only way to produce authentic sounding grooves from MIDI instruments.

How are you monitoring your drum audio? Through the Digi001? That will inevitably induuce some latency. It takes times to crunch the numbers. Reduce the hardware buffer size (under "Hardware" in the "Setups" menu). You may have to deactivate some plug-ins to run at the lowest setting.

Alternatively, monitor your drums direct from a hardware mixer.

I'm also curious to hear how well MIDI is captured from an e-kit, as it seems to be the perfect way to program MIDI drums, like I said before. Due to MIDI timing irregularities, you may have to deactivate all plugs to give your CPU full power to maintain tight MIDI timing.

I just had a thought... If the kit's 'local' switch was set to off (ie. the pads trigger MIDI - but not the sound module directly) and you were sending MIDI thru Pro Tools and back to the drums to make them sound, then that may explain your skewed timing. If this is the case, refer to my previous paragraph.

Please keep in touch with your progress.

Cheers,

Phil
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2001, 08:34 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Real Time E-drum Problems

Where exactly are you talking about with this "latency" you are hearing? Are you recording through the Digi001 and listening through the D/A's on playback?
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clip Gain won’t update in real time during playback on Elastic Time tracks yanos macOS 0 06-03-2012 03:48 PM
Real-Time Bounce to Disk...REAL PAIN Brian in Charlotte 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 201 07-26-2010 08:12 AM
DIGI FEEDBACK: 'Real Time' Bounces-Time Effective? csiking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-20-2005 06:41 PM
creating "real drum" ambience w/drum softsamplers captain54 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 03-02-2004 09:03 AM
Time before real-time edits take place? Captain_Pants 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 09-19-2002 05:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com