Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2014, 06:32 PM
yorgo yorgo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Brampton
Posts: 110
Default syncing external drum machine

Hey guys ....new to pro tools and having a hell of a time syncing protools to my drum machine. I'm using windows....

I've done this with Ableton and it was easy....no so here. The drum machine accepts "clock" or I guess it is referred to as MMC...I think.
I have the cable midi out from the scarlett to the in of the drum machine...
I tried following help in PT but it still didn't work... What can I possibly be missing? Help

This is from the help but I don't see that option in the peripheral window?
4 Deselect Enable SYNC Peripheral if it is selected.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2014, 12:03 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,986
Default Re: syncing external drum machine

I think you want MTC(midi time code). You need to either tell Pro Tools to sync to incoming midi, or tell the drum machine to follow MTC(which means you need midi going in both directions. Since a drum machine is rock steady for tempo, you could also simply record the drum machine to AUDIO tracks, and then set the tempo in Pro Tools to match it. This is another lesson in itself and I am not the one to teach it, but its a valuable one, to say the least. Hopefully someone with more experience on this will chime in soon
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2014, 02:30 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,661
Default Re: syncing external drum machine

Hi

Here are some things to look into :

Enabling MIDI Machine Control in Pro Tools
Pro Tools as MMC Master


When Pro Tools is the Master, it sends MMC commands to the slave device and receives MTC information back from the slave device.

To slave an external device to Pro Tools using MIDI Machine Control:

1 Connect a MIDI Out port on your Pro Tools MIDI interface to an appropriate port on the slave device.
2 Connect the MTC out from the slave device to a MIDI In port on your Pro Tools MIDI Inter- face.
3 In Pro Tools, choose Setup > Peripherals and click the Synchronization tab.
4 Deselect Enable SYNC Peripheral if it is se- lected.
5 From the MTC Reader Port pop-up menu, se- lect the MIDI In port to which the slave device is connected (the source of MTC information from the slave device).
6 Click the Machine Control tab in the Peripherals dialog.
7 In the MIDI Machine Control (Master) section, select Enable.
8 In the MIDI Machine Control (Master) section, select the MIDI Out port to which the slave de- vice is connected from the pop-up menu.
9 Set the MMC ID number for which this information will be sent in the “ID” field.
MMC commands contain an ID number to iden- tify which machine should respond to the MMC command. There are 128 MMC ID numbers, from 0–127. The default of ID #127 is a special setting that transmits to all 128 MMC IDs. With a setting of 127, Pro Tools will transmit MMC commands to all MMC IDs.
10 Set a pre-roll time for your MMC slave device. Pre-roll is needed to provide the device with sufficient time to lock to the timecode transmitted by Pro Tools. This value will vary depending on the external device. If the pre-roll time is insuf- ficient, the device may not be ready to lock until after the current timecode position has passed.
11 Click OK to close the Peripherals dialog.
12 In the Pro Tools Transport window, choose
Transport = MMC.
Pro Tools will now be able to control the se- lected device’s transport and act as the clock master.
13 To have the Pro Tools transport chase the playback location of the slave device, click the Online button in the Transport window.

From Tools Reference Guide: Chapter 50: Working with Synchronization Page 1155

Hope this helps out somewhat.

Best Regards
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble Syncing Drum Machine with Pro Tools scottrolfs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 02-24-2014 06:49 PM
syncing external drum machine MPB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-11-2013 11:54 AM
Syncing Drum Machine to Pro Tools cletus MIDI 2 01-04-2006 07:52 AM
Syncing drum machine to PT? Animal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-04-2005 12:05 PM
questions with syncing up my boss drum machine johnnymojo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-02-2004 02:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com