Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2002, 07:51 AM
leon777 leon777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 262
Default Is there a shortcut for PT to stop at the end of a selection? digi,PLEASE SETTLE THIS

When I highlight an area in a track I press Control 5, the selection starts at the beginning of the
selection but continues to play after it reaches the end of the selection. This drives me nuts!

There's got to be a way for the selection to stop playing when it reaches the end of the selection. What am I doing wrong?

Leon [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2002, 08:30 AM
FajitaTone FajitaTone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,239
Default Re: Is there a shortcut for PT to stop at the end of a selection? digi,PLEASE SETTLE THIS

toggle "insertion follows playback" I believe it's "n" when in cmd-focus mode.
__________________
Ray Trujillo
Freelance Audio Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2002, 10:09 AM
leon777 leon777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 262
Default Re: Is there a shortcut for PT to stop at the end of a selection? digi,PLEASE SETTLE THIS

Thanks for the info. It just doesn't work for me. The region continue to playing. It just won't stop!

What's up here?

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2002, 10:37 AM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: Is there a shortcut for PT to stop at the end of a selection? digi,PLEASE SETTLE THIS

do you have post roll on?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-09-2002, 11:28 AM
leon777 leon777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 262
Default Re: Is there a shortcut for PT to stop at the end of a selection? digi,PLEASE SETTLE THIS

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-09-2002, 07:42 PM
leon777 leon777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 262
Default Re: Is there a shortcut for PT to stop at the end of a selection? digi,PLEASE SETTLE THIS

I turned off Postroll. Still does not work.

Anyone else have any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Leon [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-10-2002, 04:11 AM
Mark Haliday Mark Haliday is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 770
Default Re: Is there a shortcut for PT to stop at the end of a selection? digi,PLEASE SETTLE THIS

As often the answer lies in the manuals, under the self explanatory heading : Playing Selections

"1 Make sure to select Operations > Link Edit and
Timeline Selection."

p 204 (p 218 on the pdf version) Pro Tools Reference Guide (PT 5.1)

p 170 (p 182 pdf)Pro Tools Reference Guide (PT 5.01)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-10-2002, 08:05 AM
leon777 leon777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 262
Default Re: Is there a shortcut for PT to stop at the end of a selection? digi,PLEASE SETTLE THIS

Hi all,

I've done it all. I'm familiar with the manual also. Maybe I'm missing something in it or maybe I am not explaining myself properly... I am trying to get the selection to play without all the other tracks playing.

After trying all of the above the selected area still continues to play past the end point. The only way I can get it to work is by:

1-making the selection
2-soloing the track
3-press play or Option 5
4- press solo again to enable all tacks.

Also, the closest I've come to accomplishing this is by setting the "Numeric Keyboard Mode" to
"Shuttle" - This way I get the selection to play soloed but the problem is when I press Control 5 it
only plays 1 second of the selection and stops - quite frustrating!

Digi, are you hearing me? I need help...

Leon [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2002, 03:10 PM
mizieg mizieg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Copenhagen - Denmark
Posts: 119
Default Re: Is there a shortcut for PT to stop at the end of a selection? digi,PLEASE SETTLE THIS

Hi Leon777

Try delete the prefs - it worked for me.

Regards
Michael Ziegler
Denmark
__________________
M -Ziegler
Copenhagen Denmark

| iMac 27" 3.2 Ghz Core i3 | 8 GB Ram | Pro Tools Mbox Pro (3) | Lacie d2 Disk Quadra v2.1 1 TB FW | Pro Tools 10.3.3 (always newest update) | MPT2 | OS X 10.8.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2002, 01:04 PM
leon777 leon777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 262
Default Re: Is there a shortcut for PT to stop at the end of a selection? digi,PLEASE SETTLE THIS

Michael,

Thanks. I just trashed the prefs. Still a "no go".
I must be doing something wrong. AHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!
Is there more than 1 pref to trash?

Someones got to have the answer. HELP!!!

Leon [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selection clears after stop? GloryIsSilent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 01-20-2009 11:52 PM
erase all but selection shortcut mik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-28-2008 06:55 AM
Shortcut for moving a selection mhmh Tips & Tricks 8 06-08-2007 11:32 PM
selection shortcut? rogga_bogga 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-07-2005 02:25 PM
LETS SETTLE THIS??????? DIGI 001 VS ROLAND VS2480 VS YAMAHA AW4416 VS _____________ PSI General Discussion 9 07-17-2001 08:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com