Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-22-2001, 10:39 PM
gabadilla gabadilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: california
Posts: 23
Default Computer freezes at startup .... more...please read

Hello,

I am an excited owner of the digi 001 pro tools system, but I seem to have encounter a little problem right off the bat. The computer has decided to freeze just with the card being in the PCI slot. Since, the computer has decided to freeze at startup... obviously I haven't had the chance to install the drivers. So I need your help.... is this a problem w/ the card... or my motherboard... or other?

Here is my system:

biostar M6VCF Socket 370, 133Mhz FSB (Retail)
pentium 3 1ghz
512mb 133ram
windows ME

Please help me out!

Thanks,

Gabe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-22-2001, 10:43 PM
gabadilla gabadilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: california
Posts: 23
Default Re: Computer freezes at startup .... more...please read

I think I should add...

The computer works fine when I remove the card.

I have attempted to switch pci slots (only 2 on the mobo).

Thanks,

Gabe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2001, 11:19 PM
8mmOverdose 8mmOverdose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Computer freezes at startup .... more...please read

I'm not positive, but I think you need to have the digi 001 box hooked up to the card. Install the wave driver first and shut down the system, then put in the card and attach the box to the card, then re boot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-23-2001, 03:07 AM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,910
Default Re: Computer freezes at startup .... more...please read

Sounds like a compatability problem to me.I would suggest getting in touch with the digi engineers via email. They were good in getting me up and running. Good luck
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-23-2001, 05:56 AM
KenB KenB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Des Plaines, IL, USA
Posts: 75
Default Re: Computer freezes at startup .... more...please read

Do you have anything in your startup menu?

I have a compatibility problem between my AmEx Blue cardreader and my digi001. After removing the blue software from startup - loading is fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-23-2001, 11:57 AM
gabadilla gabadilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: california
Posts: 23
Default Re: Computer freezes at startup .... more...please read

Thanks for the replies...

1.) I tried hooking up the breakout box before starting the computer and I get the same result.

2.) Just to clarify, the freeze happens before windows has a chance to even boot up... it happens directly after the initial boot screen... so I'm thinking it's a problem with the digi or my motherboard... sigh... this is frustrating!

Thanks again,

=gabe=
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-23-2001, 03:21 PM
crs117 crs117 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: deland, fl (outside of orlando)
Posts: 1,537
Default Re: Computer freezes at startup .... more...please read

Well first of all i think that you have an usupported motherboard, which does not necissarily mean that it wont work. you say you have only 2 pci slots on your mobo, i am guessing you have a mini atx motherboard. i am not too familure witht these boards, but according to digi they list as supported only full atx boards.

Secondly you have a biostar board, which i think uses an unsupported bios. could you list the specifics of your mobo. What kind of board is it. What kind of chipset is it using, and finally what bios are you using. also if you could list what other hardware is inside of your computer and a printup of your irq setup would be nice in trying to figure this out.

i am also assuming that with the v in the name of your board that it may be the via chipset which in past experiences with pII's and III's paired up with the via boards has been quite a difficulty.

Christian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-23-2001, 04:05 PM
gabadilla gabadilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: california
Posts: 23
Default Re: Computer freezes at startup .... more...please read

Thank you for your response:

I pulled this info from this link... http://www.biostar.com.tw/products/m6vcf.htm

PROCESSOR

Socket 370
Intel CoppermineTM and CeleronTM Processor
133MHz FSB
PROCESSOR


CHIPSET
VIA 82C694X / 82C686A

MEMORY
3 x 168-pin SDRAM
Maximum 768MB SDRAM
PC-133

EXPANSION SLOT
2 x PCI
1 x AGP
1 x AMR

=gabe=
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-23-2001, 10:48 PM
crs117 crs117 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: deland, fl (outside of orlando)
Posts: 1,537
Default Re: Computer freezes at startup .... more...please read

Go into your bios and disable the onboard sound chip then reinstall your 001 card, and see what happens. i am willing to bet that the on board sound is the culprit in this situation.

But like i mentioned before your board is not supported at all. it is a micro atx board (like i thought) and a via chipset (like i also assumed), so you may have to look to getting a new mobo and in your situation a new case. i know that some new pIII boards have just been released, plust the prices should be really low so it could be a good investment. Try following the above advice first though.

Also if you are not using your AMR slot (since it is basically impossible to find anything that uses the amr slot) i would recommend disabling that in the bios too.


Christian
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-24-2001, 07:48 AM
Increddibelly Increddibelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 89
Default Re: Computer freezes at startup .... more...please read

This smells like PCI parity problem... browse your BIOS to disable this option
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 8.0.3 freezes on startup on Windows 7 ericinthebay 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-23-2009 06:57 PM
PRO TOOLS 5.0.1 freezes on startup satpat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-17-2006 08:08 PM
PT 6.4 freezes after startup logandrum 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-06-2005 10:39 PM
PT Dae freezes on startup Bossi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-23-2005 12:35 PM
PT freezes on startup rastro2 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-26-2002 06:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com