Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2014, 12:38 PM
Fezzler Fezzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 313
Default Cheapest Upgrade Path for Improved PT LE 8 Recording

Up front, I will confess I fear professional recording engineers and enthusiasts will hate this post. But I am a home hobbyist, so be mindful of that.

I have the Eleven Rack with expansion pack. I use Pro Tools LE 8.05 on a Win7 Home Premium PC, 32-bit.

My computer is an Intel Core 2 Duo E6400, DC 2.13 GHz, 1066 MHz front side bus, Socket 775, Intel 945G Chipset, Asus Micro ATX Motherboard (Leonite-GL8e).

I have 4gb RAM on mobo; C-drive: SATA 250gig 5400rpm; E-drive: SATA 250gig 5400rp; L-drive 7200rpm firewire 800 for recording. Separate graphics card with 2gig memory.

I have made all of the recommended optimizations for Pro Tools LE 8.05 (or most). Most of my settings are defaults in Pro Tools. I adjust buffers as needed when recording vs mixing.

I'm happy with PTLE 8. I may upgrade both my computer and PT someday, but right now LE is fine and money is tight.

Given my satisfaction with LE and use of the 11R and firewire drive, what are some options for perhaps improving my LE performance on the cheap side? For example - will converting my C: drive to SSD make a difference? Get a "new" used PC or even a Mac (laptop or Mini)? New used pc, what is my most affordable option?

What would you do, beyond saving for PT and computer complete upgrade?

If this is totally ridiculous path, let me know. But, if I'm happy with LE, why not leverage the improved performance and lower cost of used technology for another 18-24 months?

What am I trying to solve for? PT LE hangs sometimes after a track is printed; or some heavy editing; or switching back and forth from 11R setting; or using VSTi like Boom or Structure or Xpand. So I am assuming a little more horsepower will eliminate that inconvenience and workflow.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2014, 02:00 PM
mjslakeridge's Avatar
mjslakeridge mjslakeridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,086
Default Re: Cheapest Upgrade Path for Improved PT LE 8 Recording

What is your CPU utilization when running a session with lots of tracks and plugins? I was using a Core2Duo e-4400 with LE up until a year or so ago with no problems. I would guess the problems with the VI's may be due to the speed of your C and E drives-only 5,400 rpms. With SSD prices really dropping, you may consider getting one for your operating system and sample libraries. I think many on the forum recommend Samsung 840 Pro SSD's.
__________________
"Whiskey Bottle...Brand New Car...Oak Tree You're in my Way" RVZ

Digi 002 rack , Command 8, Behringer ADA 8000, Tascam M-320B Mixer, Alesis Monitor Two Speakers, Vintage and Modern Tube Amps, Fender American Strat, 1973 Gibson SB-450 Bass, Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro, Roland W-30 Keyboard, Preimier XPK Fusion Drum Kit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2014, 02:58 PM
Fezzler Fezzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 313
Default Re: Cheapest Upgrade Path for Improved PT LE 8 Recording

Now that you mention it, I have been getting messages that CPU use is high. Once, PT didn't freeze but I couldn't play back even if I adjusted buffers. I use mostly PT plugins with some Steven Slate console emulators and mix bus emulations. On the track I couldn't play back, it was only like 8 tracks, mix of midi and audio.

Are you good at reading Sandra reports?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2014, 03:06 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Cheapest Upgrade Path for Improved PT LE 8 Recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fezzler View Post
Up front, I will confess I fear professional recording engineers and enthusiasts will hate this post. But I am a home hobbyist, so be mindful of that.
Grrrrrrr

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fezzler View Post
I have the Eleven Rack with expansion pack. I use Pro Tools LE 8.05 on a Win7 Home Premium PC, 32-bit.
Go with a 64-bit OS and pack in more RAM. As far as I know, your license key for Windows 7 will work for the 64 bit version. That brings up the question of whether an upgrade to 64 bit would be worthwhile, or are there other limiting factors that would render that upgrade moot, like fewer DIMM slots than needed, etc. I'm not qualified to speak on this particular matter.

Yes, it would help if you replaced your C: drive with a faster HDD (7200 RPM) or a SSD. This will show improvement across the board, not just with Pro Tools.

Beyond that, I think attempting to squeeze any more power out of what you have is a game of diminishing returns. Be mindful that the cost of computers is pretty low, all things considered... The "Silverbox" computer in my signature cost $950, not including the $200 in hard drive upgrades I performed after purchase.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2014, 09:53 PM
Fezzler Fezzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 313
Default Re: Cheapest Upgrade Path for Improved PT LE 8 Recording

You are right I suppose. I didn't know if an old Mac mini or post-Core Duo PC would fit the bill.

I just rechecked my Sandra Report, all hard drives are 7200rpm already.

I guess I'll make do until I'm ready for new pc and PT upgrade.

When I do go new I was eyeballing the Sweetwater Creation Station series. Or going Mac.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2014, 10:04 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Cheapest Upgrade Path for Improved PT LE 8 Recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fezzler View Post
When I do go new I was eyeballing the Sweetwater Creation Station series. Or going Mac.
If you end up buying a pre-built PC with Pro Tools in mind, check out http://www.pro-tools-pc.com/
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-18-2014, 12:36 AM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,916
Default Re: Cheapest Upgrade Path for Improved PT LE 8 Recording

I agree the best option is to sit tight until you can afford a complete overhaul upgrade otherwise you're wasting money IMHO.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.3.2) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-18-2014, 09:28 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,159
Default Re: Cheapest Upgrade Path for Improved PT LE 8 Recording

2 more cents With a socket 775, you could likely find a used quad core cpu for dirt money. That plus Win7 64 bit and doubling the RAM might give the old beast a bit more grunt. There are 2 issues to consider. 1-each newer version of PT seems to need more horsepower, and 2-NONE of your current plugins will work in PT11 unless they have AAX 64 bit versions available(which MOST do, but you may need to pay some to get these updated versions). After that, since you have a working setup now, I would remove your system drive and install a fresh drive, and load everything from scratch. Starting with a "clean slate" is the best way to do a major upgrade Good luck with whatever you decide to do
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-18-2014, 09:30 PM
Fezzler Fezzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 313
Default Re: Cheapest Upgrade Path for Improved PT LE 8 Recording

Will my mobo CPU socket take a QC?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-19-2014, 09:26 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,159
Default Re: Cheapest Upgrade Path for Improved PT LE 8 Recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fezzler View Post
Will my mobo CPU socket take a QC?
Check with the mobo manufacturer website(we don't know what you have). Bear in mind it might also require a BIOS update(not a huge deal if you are going to reload Windows anyway).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheapest way to upgrade from PT8 to PT10? luts macOS 4 01-16-2014 06:06 AM
cheapest way to upgrade from protools 8? james21789 Pro Tools 9 4 01-30-2012 07:58 PM
Cheapest Path to Mac? EarBud 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 07-24-2010 07:19 PM
Cheapest upgrade for 001 user? riffing 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-24-2008 02:40 PM
Has PT's mixer's audio path 'math' been improved in 5.1 or is that just a myth? Jules Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 25 05-10-2001 12:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com