Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2014, 11:32 AM
lancemcv lancemcv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 519
Default 2013 Mac Pro with native card...has anyone tried this yet?

Hi,
Just wondering if anyone has been able to try this setup yet, the 2013 Mac Pro with a thunderbolt chassis for the Native card.
Work is buying me the new 4 core mac pro to replace our aged 2006 mac pro,
which I have to say has been really reliable. I only use it to track live bands usually up to 48 tracks 48k 24bit.
The new Mac Pro only runs Mavericks and Pro Tools 11.1.
Also what is the best thunderbolt enclosure for the native card, Sonnet or OWC.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2014, 03:25 PM
LoZion's Avatar
LoZion LoZion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 349
Default Re: 2013 Mac Pro with native card...has anyone tried this yet?

or even the TB HDN, is it working?
__________________
"The secret in life is to have no fear"
Fela Anikulapo Kuti
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2014, 07:24 AM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 862
Default Re: 2013 Mac Pro with native card...has anyone tried this yet?

Hi,

If I understand your questions correctly:

Yes.
We started a native system on a late Mac Pro. (For a bunch of reasons, went to a Hack)
The Mac Pro was great.

The only problem is, the late Mac Pro's don't have thunderbolt ports.
Ours is a PCE card system.
The new Mac pro "Trash cans" have 6 Thunderbolt ports, but are not readily available yet. (You may want to consider a Mini. You really won't gain too much with a MP, unless you are doing crazy video stuff)
The Thunderbolt interface is simply the same PCE card built into an interface.

Recording many simultaneous tracks on HDN is doable, but a bit of a pain due to latency.
Our HDN system is fine for overdubs but recording 24 tracks at once just was a nightmare.
We kept a TDM system for that and are in the process of getting an HDX to replace that.

The only experience with a chassis we have had has been Magma 3 slot.
Works great.

I have heard people having great success with the Sonnet as well.
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2014, 07:57 AM
lancemcv lancemcv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 519
Default Re: 2013 Mac Pro with native card...has anyone tried this yet?

Hi Booker, actually I'm asking about the brand new black cylinder 2013 Mac Pro. Thanks for the reply though. I have two Mac pros, one in my home studio, a 2009 8 core and at work the older 2006 4 core, both have a native card installed. At work latency is not an issue for me as the band does not listen to the tracks while recording only I do. It's a live music venue. I do edit video as well but mostly at my home studio, but seeing the new Mac Pro is fairly portable I'm thinking I can just grab it and bring it home to do some editing on it. Your right about the new Mac Pro being overkill just for tracking, a new quad core mini would do the job just fine but hey, I would rather they get me the Mac Pro :)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2014, 07:59 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,832
Default Re: 2013 Mac Pro with native card...has anyone tried this yet?

He was asking specifically about the new "trash can" Mac Pro.

I think his concern is because there are already some issues with older PCIe cards even with a chassis, primarily UAD2 cards other than the Octo card. They apparently are not compatible with the new Mac Pro, even with a Thunderbolt to PCIe chassis.

So he's probably wondering if there will be any issues with the HD Native setups.


I would say to the OP, that people are getting the new Mac Pros delivered faster than what was expected, so it shouldn't be too long before someone gets to test this.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2014, 08:26 AM
lancemcv lancemcv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 519
Default Re: 2013 Mac Pro with native card...has anyone tried this yet?

Yea, one of my concerns is the new Mac Pros have thunderbolt 2. I actually may be one of the early testers as work ordered two back in December.
Really just would like to know if anyone has tried it with either the native card in a thunderbolt box or even just the native thunderbolt.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2014, 10:52 AM
LoZion's Avatar
LoZion LoZion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 349
Default Re: 2013 Mac Pro with native card...has anyone tried this yet?

I'll be monitoring this thread ;-)
__________________
"The secret in life is to have no fear"
Fela Anikulapo Kuti
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-17-2014, 09:00 AM
lancemcv lancemcv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 519
Default Re: 2013 Mac Pro with native card...has anyone tried this yet?

Any one using the new Mac Pro yet with a native setup? Just making a remark to move this thread back up the food chain.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-17-2014, 02:27 PM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: 2013 Mac Pro with native card...has anyone tried this yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bookerv12 View Post
Recording many simultaneous tracks on HDN is doable, but a bit of a pain due to latency.
Our HDN system is fine for overdubs but recording 24 tracks at once just was a nightmare.

I record 48 tracks off my Venue through my HD Native Thunderbolt on to a Mac Book Pro with zero issues. 24 tracks with a Mac Pro should be a snap.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-19-2014, 06:21 AM
Moviesound Moviesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 186
Default Re: 2013 Mac Pro with native card...has anyone tried this yet?

New 6.1 Mac Pro PT11 and thunderbolt native working really well....except recording are crackling/clicking on playback. Analogue into new Omni, nowhere near clipping. Sounds great when recording but crackling on playback. Yet to find the reason. Otherwise so far very good
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EMI Noise: Graphics card to HD Native card jacknprewitt Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 10-19-2013 09:02 PM
Chat Transcript | Avid PT 11 Webinar at NAB 2013 | 04/09/2013 Meads Pro Tools 11 13 04-29-2013 10:29 AM
Using PT10 native without the native card Old School Audio Guy Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 6 02-14-2013 11:11 AM
Venue + mix rack + hdx card + pro tools hd native card ? hart07 VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 05-23-2012 12:02 PM
HD Native Card Possibly Fried My Graphics Card witrelo Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 09-14-2011 11:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com