Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2012, 06:55 PM
james21789 james21789 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 102
Default cheapest way to upgrade from protools 8?

Hi folks,

I have a 003 rack with PT8.05 running on my win7 x64 desktop. I really want to upgrade to at least PT9. Is upgrading to PT9 no longer possible now that 10 has been released? If so, do I need to have PT9 to upgrade to 10? From what I gather, the only way for me to upgrade at this point is to buy the software at retail price, which seems absurd considering I've already spent 1k on the 003 rack.

Thanks for any help you might be able to provide,

James
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2012, 07:34 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default Re: cheapest way to upgrade from protools 8?

No sweat James I spent 1100 bones on my 003r right b/f PT9 came out too..... it's really just not a nice feeling....I know.

u can use your serial number to upgrade to PT9 i believe for a price of $250. I actually haven't done this yet - I got PT9HD another way but I believe this is the way you can do it...You just need to give digi your serial number.

I suppose (personally) sweetwater is the easist way to take care of this...??? But IDK.....They were really helpful when I bought my 003r from them. You need to tell them you want to upgrade from PT8 and give them your serial number and they will have a few days to get ahold of AVID and then it happens......

Hope that helps somewhat......
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2012, 08:50 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,832
Default Re: cheapest way to upgrade from protools 8?

PT9 is officially discontinued. You may not be able to find it through most dealers, but you may be able to find it on ebay. It would be cheaper than going to 10.

PT10 upgrade from any version of LE is $499. It doesn't matter which version you currently have.

There is also the option of buying one of the new interfaces that come with PT9 and give you a free upgrade to 10, such as the new Mboxes or Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2012, 01:37 PM
james21789 james21789 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 102
Default Re: cheapest way to upgrade from protools 8?

thanks for the info guys, my university has a student deal for 300 for some sort of box and PT10 so I'll probably just go with that. It just seems silly I'll be only using the license and not the physical hardware.

YYR112, I'm from Austin too actually. Eat some tacos for me.

-j
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2012, 07:58 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by james21789 View Post
YYR112, I'm from Austin too actually. Eat some tacos for me.

-j
Save a taco - eat a pizza !!!!

Yeah lots of those down here huh, especially at my house!!!


I should charge Tapatalk 2 pennies every time this message comes up !!!
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheapest way to upgrade from PT8 to PT10? luts macOS 4 01-16-2014 06:06 AM
Cheapest and easiest solution to upgrade to Pro Tools 11HD BuckleySound macOS 8 07-05-2013 01:40 PM
cheapest protools for gui 11R pitbulltodd Eleven Rack 1 06-05-2012 12:17 PM
Cheapest upgrade for 001 user? riffing 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-24-2008 02:40 PM
what is the cheapest way to get 24 outputs from protools HD3/192? spong Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 03-16-2002 12:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com