Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2011, 02:05 PM
Nightworker Nightworker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: somewhere
Posts: 218
Default Copying notes without erasing already set velocity

I'm having to do a lot of manual corrections to a track made on piano due to the player being unable to actually play on time, and quantizing is really not cutting it.

I'm on PT m-powered 7.4 and I would like to be able to correct a two bar section that repeats itself for a while, and then just duplicate it over the existing notes but without overwriting the velocity that is already set. Is there a way to do this or I'm stuck doing it manually?

Thanks in advance for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-15-2011, 02:18 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Copying notes without erasing already set velocity

If I'm not mistaken (Beat Detective) Extracting Groove Templates copies and pastes Velocity.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2011, 02:21 PM
Nightworker Nightworker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: somewhere
Posts: 218
Default Re: Copying notes without erasing already set velocity

So let's see if I get this straight. You're saying that I should use beat detective to get the velocity (not speaking of the beat speed here, but the midi velocity of a note) of an entire section, copy it and then paste it somewhere else so I can then re-paste it over the section once it's corrected?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2011, 03:00 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Copying notes without erasing already set velocity

The method extracts a Groove that carries Velocity. This Groove is then applied to the same length MIDI Region. Extracting Groove Templates is covered in the Pro Tools Reference Guide.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2011, 03:13 PM
Nightworker Nightworker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: somewhere
Posts: 218
Default Re: Copying notes without erasing already set velocity

The problem that I'm facing is that he's not in time, groove apart (which there's non even after 14 takes), he just seems to be having trouble with keeping the timing of the part. The rest of the song is excellent, just that part. So taking the groove wont help me I think. What I need is a way to separate the midi velocity, save it somewhere, then fix the timing issues, copy that part over until the end of the section and copy back the velocity over it. If it's at all possible.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-15-2011, 04:18 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Copying notes without erasing already set velocity

I haven't done this for years but I'm pretty sure you can select only Velocity to be applied. Alternatively, try Flatten Performance check Velocity and adjust the timing then Restore Performance check Velocity.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-15-2011, 08:08 PM
Nightworker Nightworker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: somewhere
Posts: 218
Default Re: Copying notes without erasing already set velocity

I'll try this out. Just hope I won't lose the velocity that was recorded as plaid. Well there's always undo but still.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-15-2011, 08:16 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Copying notes without erasing already set velocity

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightworker View Post
I'll try this out. Just hope I won't lose the velocity that was recorded as plaid. Well there's always undo but still.
Duplicate the track and even export the MIDI performance.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't edit velocity only anymore? Notes copying with velocity data... kingtinker Pro Tools 10 5 11-12-2011 10:53 AM
Toggle Notes to Velocity? Blank Frank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-02-2007 03:27 PM
Toggle between notes and velocity Blank Frank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-02-2007 01:12 AM
MIDI velocity/notes view key command? travista00 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-27-2005 04:31 PM
Play Midi Notes When Editing Velocity? Raccoon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-20-2003 05:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com