Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2009, 11:12 AM
digimidi's Avatar
digimidi digimidi is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Orlando, FL, USA
Posts: 237
Default ICON tip

How to have Pro Tools show/hide tracks in conjunction with group views on ICON

There have been quite a few requests to have Pro Tools show only the tracks that are in a custom group on an ICON system. Since custom groups are a view that is only on the console, there isn't really a way to do this currently in this mode. What can be done instead is to create a mix/edit group of the tracks instead and use a Pro Tools command to achieve the same type of result. Here are the steps;

1. Create a mix/edit group of the tracks you want to see, making sure to deselect all attributes.
2. From the console, before selecting the group to view, cntl/select (Mac), win/select (PC) the group. This can be done one of several ways;

a. On D-Control, from the bank select buttons above the transport area
b. By holding down the groups button under Custom Faders, you will get a matrix of all the groups on the encoders of the group area of the console

3. This will show just the tracks that are in that group.
4. Select the group again without the modifier to access the group on the console.

It does take one extra step, but does get the desired result.

Cntl/select (win/select) from the soft keys will show just those tracks on the top layer of the console, bypassing the need to go into a custom view at all.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Gil
__________________
Gil Gowing
Principal
Digimidi Technical Services
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2009, 03:58 PM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: ICON tip

Oooh ... nice one. I completely forgot about that way of doing it.

I'm going to revise my session template with that in mind. I use Show/Hide functionality of memory locations for a similar purpose. I think the combination of both is ideal. I like to separate Mix groups from Edit groups and I hardly ever create combined mix/edit groups. Have to try this ...

As said I've been using memory locations but I think with your suggestion I can cut out a step in a lot of situations.

Thanks Gil.


Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Icon Bug uno1234 ICON & C|24 2 06-26-2008 11:22 AM
Help with 7.2 Icon changes real_eyes ICON & C|24 1 08-28-2006 03:24 PM
PT icon innesireinar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-25-2005 08:52 AM
ICON in TV ad Vaphoron ICON & C|24 6 06-20-2005 06:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com