Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2009, 10:56 AM
gclef101 gclef101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 121
Question PC to Mac

I am looking to buy a mac pro 8-core system. I have a PC system right now and my questions are can I use my SATA HD's after re-formating and can I use my PCI express video card from my PC system? Thanks for any information to my questions!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2009, 11:14 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: PC to Mac

Hard drives, yes.

Video card, no.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2009, 11:53 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: PC to Mac

Oh, I should caveat the hard drive answer; the new Mac Pro uses a standard backplane mounting. If the hard drives are standard desktop drives, they should be fine. Things like the older Western Digital Raptors (the 10,000 rpm drives) require adapters to mount.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2009, 01:35 PM
gclef101 gclef101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 121
Default Re: PC to Mac

Thanks for the info!!! Can anyone recommend an expensive video with dual DVI outputs? Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2009, 01:39 PM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: PC to Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by gclef101 View Post
Thanks for the info!!! Can anyone recommend an expensive video with dual DVI outputs? Thanks again!
You asked for it.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com