Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2007, 04:46 AM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default SYNC I/O Macintosh serial cable - max. length?????

Hi all,

I need a 10 meter cable for the connection of the SYNC I/O to the Core Card.
Is there a max. lenght for this one? is it supported by DIGI?
has anyone done this?

I could not find any info about this in the manual or on the digi site, and there was only one post in here, that was not quite helpful...

so any info appreciated!!

Thanks, and have a nice day!
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2007, 01:17 PM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Re: SYNC I/O Macintosh serial cable - max. length?????

no one?
DIGI???
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2007, 02:58 PM
1511 1511 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Nashville, Tn
Posts: 111
Default Re: SYNC I/O Macintosh serial cable - max. length?????

Hello. If you're referring to the Digilink Cable, I have a 50' one for sale, if you need it. I used this one from my core card to a 192 i/o with no problem. I don't think there is an issue with cable length. Here's a thread on Digilink Cable length:

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...v=#Post1015126

email me:
nns1511@comcast.net

Thanks,
Chas
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2007, 03:36 PM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Re: SYNC I/O Macintosh serial cable - max. length?????

thanks for your time,
but I am asking about the cable from the SYNC I/O to the Core Card.
not a Digi Link Cable.
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2007, 03:56 PM
CPettigrew CPettigrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: La Crescenta, CA USA
Posts: 681
Default Re: SYNC I/O Macintosh serial cable - max. length?

You're probably okay with that long a cable; finding one might be tricky. In the old days I had longer throws of that kind of cable to printers and midi boxes. Shouldn't be a problem.

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2007, 04:41 PM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Monterey Bay Area
Posts: 819
Default Re: SYNC I/O Macintosh serial cable - max. length?????

hi,
i ordered a 25 foot cable and it doesn't work .. PT says that
it can't communicate with it. a shorter cable did work .. so i don't know the
max length .. all i know is that my 25 footer doesn't work.
jeff
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2007, 06:43 PM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: SYNC I/O Macintosh serial cable - max. length?????

I've seen a pretty wide range of quality in wire used for serial connections. If you're going to try going that long, you'd want to get the highest quality, thickest, shielded wire you can find.

Lee Blaske
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-27-2007, 12:57 AM
Richard Barrie Richard Barrie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 202
Default Re: SYNC I/O Macintosh serial cable - max. length?????

Mac serial cables are wired as cross-over cables. A custom made pin for pin won't work. I have run Mac serial cables up to 30 Mtrs. but haven't tried long cables for the Sync I/O.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-27-2007, 11:08 AM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Re: SYNC I/O Macintosh serial cable - max. length?????

Quote:
Mac serial cables are wired as cross-over cables. A custom made pin for pin won't work. I have run Mac serial cables up to 30 Mtrs. but haven't tried long cables for the Sync I/O.
The Pin Lazout is stated in the Manual, so I know that.
Thanks for your info!
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-27-2007, 11:10 AM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Re: SYNC I/O Macintosh serial cable - max. length?????

Quote:
hi,
i ordered a 25 foot cable and it doesn't work .. PT says that
it can't communicate with it. a shorter cable did work .. so i don't know the
max length .. all i know is that my 25 footer doesn't work.
jeff
25 foot are 7.5 metres... so I guess 10 metres wont work also....
where did you buy your cable?
Thanks!!
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SYNC HD Serial Cable JJC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 03-12-2016 04:38 PM
50' serial cable and Sync i/o AmericanCheese Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-21-2009 04:16 PM
source for macintosh serial cable wildplum Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-21-2008 06:19 AM
serial cable length? fdc MIDI 3 05-09-2001 05:42 PM
maximum serial cable length for Mac ? Shabbyroad General Discussion 1 10-06-2000 12:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com