Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2006, 01:44 AM
Fran d'Valle Fran d'Valle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canary Islands, SPAIN
Posts: 586
Default iMac G5 Duo core WinXP

Hi,

I would like to know if someone is using the new iMac G5 Duo Core with windows xp and ptle v7...

I'm very surprised with mini-mac and winxp with ptle v7.


Regards
__________________
www.digitalsoundstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2006, 02:04 AM
bb_aus bb_aus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,689
Default Re: iMac G5 Duo core WinXP

windows wont run on a PPC(G5)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2006, 03:29 AM
KMK KMK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 115
Default Re: iMac G5 Duo core WinXP

is that you mean its run fast on mac mini intel?
__________________
kmkonline.com
M-Audio Firewire 410 ; Transit ; Pro Tools M-Powered 7.1 ; YAMAHA 01v96 ; Digi002 Rack ; Tranzport ; Music Production Toolkit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2006, 02:00 PM
Fran d'Valle Fran d'Valle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canary Islands, SPAIN
Posts: 586
Default Re: iMac G5 Duo core WinXP

Sorry, yes the iMac with intel proccesor.

__________________
www.digitalsoundstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2006, 06:38 AM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: iMac G5 Duo core WinXP

Shouldn't be a problem with Boot Camp installed.

Allen
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2006, 07:36 AM
illone illone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 42
Default Re: iMac G5 Duo core WinXP

Quote:
windows wont run on a PPC(G5)
It was posted in the Patriot News (business section) earlier this week that Apples or Microsoft is making a program for windows xp to run on g4's or g5's. check it out at www.pennlive.com you can find the article there to do a little research.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-08-2006, 12:39 PM
3JDamon 3JDamon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 896
Default Re: iMac G5 Duo core WinXP

Nothing new, VirtualPC has been around for years. It could run XP, but it was more like a crawl. It wasn't especially popular since a $200 PC and a KVM switch offered much better results.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-08-2006, 11:08 PM
Captain_Pants Captain_Pants is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,993
Default Re: iMac G5 Duo core WinXP

Au Contraire though, Virtual PC and Bootcamp are much different.
__________________
Ill suffer winter alone;
ten thousand miles from home...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11 and Core Duo iMac Doug Ring Pro Tools 11 12 04-27-2013 10:41 AM
iMac Core Duo or Quad Core? mixaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 11-12-2009 10:02 AM
AMD Dual Core Optimizer and WinXP SP2 Dual Core Hotfix PRS4LIFE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-10-2007 08:29 AM
iMac Core 2 Duo Ismail 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-27-2006 06:51 AM
new imac duo core halfguard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-12-2006 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com