Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2016, 12:40 PM
brfdrums brfdrums is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 15
Default PT11 play back issue

I am running a new iMAC(bought with in the last two months)...First I ran into the import audio issue with PT11 and El Capitan...then I ran into the season opens but when I hit play...nothing. The play and stop buttons highlight as if it was working but nothing...I have closed and reopened session and ther sessions and get the same thing. Funny thing is, this isn't a constant issue. it even happen while woking in a session.
Now, Is this one of those known PT/el capitan issues or something else? I am upgrading to PT12 just need to know if this problem will still exist.(however, i have only had this problem on new computer. pt11 runs fine on my macbook pro running the OS prior to EC)

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2016, 01:42 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,159
Default Re: PT11 play back issue

Make sure you don't have "Wait for Midi Note" enabled(its the little clock, lower left of Transport)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2016, 02:37 PM
brfdrums brfdrums is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 15
Default Re: PT11 play back issue

Its not that...It also wouldn't let me record either. After shutting down everything and restarting all worked fine. Again, the playback issue happened while in a session...after running a few tracks. Im thinking this will be resolved with my upgrade to 12...just wanted a second or so opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2016, 05:56 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,750
Default Re: PT11 play back issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by brfdrums View Post
Its not that...It also wouldn't let me record either. After shutting down everything and restarting all worked fine. Again, the playback issue happened while in a session...after running a few tracks. Im thinking this will be resolved with my upgrade to 12...just wanted a second or so opinion.
I do believe your problem is that PT11 is not and never will be okayed for use in ElCrapitan. That's not to say it won't work but as far as getting support from Avid that won't happen. PT12 is your only answer right now.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2016, 07:16 PM
rhysesthesis rhysesthesis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5
Default Re: PT11 play back issue

Quote:
I am running a new iMAC(bought with in the last two months)...First I ran into the import audio issue with PT11 and El Capitan...then I ran into the season opens but when I hit play...nothing. The play and stop buttons highlight as if it was working but nothing...I have closed and reopened session and ther sessions and get the same thing. Funny thing is, this isn't a constant issue. it even happen while woking in a session.
Now, Is this one of those known PT/el capitan issues or something else? I am upgrading to PT12 just need to know if this problem will still exist.(however, i have only had this problem on new computer. pt11 runs fine on my macbook pro running the OS prior to EC)

Thanks in advance
Hi brfdrums, if you take a look at the Pro Tools Operating System Compatibility Chart (can't link to it yet as this is my first post here!), you'll see that none of the PT11 version numbers are officially supported on El Cap. Your problems are consistent with version number/OS incompatibilities, in that the issue is inconsistent and "buggy." I work at my school's computer support center and we have not seen a single PT12/ElCap issue, so you can go forth into PT12 with confidence.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-2016, 07:45 AM
brfdrums brfdrums is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 15
Default Re: PT11 play back issue

Thanks rhysesthesis, Thats what i was thinking. PT11 works fine on my macbook pro. I thought i had waited long enough( i knew there was issues with compatibility just figured i waited it out). I have an order placed with avid for an upgrade to 12...im sure ill be in heaven once that goes through. Thanks again!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-2016, 08:27 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,750
Default Re: PT11 play back issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by brfdrums View Post
Thanks rhysesthesis, Thats what i was thinking. PT11 works fine on my macbook pro. I thought i had waited long enough( i knew there was issues with compatibility just figured i waited it out). I have an order placed with avid for an upgrade to 12...im sure ill be in heaven once that goes through. Thanks again!!
Whether you'll be in heaven or not depends if Avid get's it's stuff together with the issues PT12 has been having with EC. As I understand it having the latest version of both sets of s/w doesn't guarantee success. All I can say is don't get rid of the laptop just yet.

BTW - your iMac - does it have a Fusion drive for the system drive? If so they are death to PT unless you split the drive sections.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2016, 05:04 AM
brfdrums brfdrums is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 15
Default Re: PT11 play back issue

right on! i planned on keeping my laptop as is...for that very reason...you just never know...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Play back issue brian_ Getting Started 4 03-04-2014 11:07 AM
Audio play back issue xterraguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-18-2010 10:16 AM
Midi connection and play back issue Travele611 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-21-2007 10:54 PM
PLAY BACK ISSUE John Rose 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-06-2006 07:55 PM
play back and selection issue PATofNAVAR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-01-2005 06:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com