Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-17-2007, 01:39 PM
GTBannah GTBannah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GuyBarTola
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: computer in other room...long cords?

Quote:
I found a 25' extension cable (monitor, keyboard, mouse) for $34. Do you guys see any inherent problems with this?

http://www.action-electronics.com/switchboxes.htm
I would hope/assume that they would test it before they put it on the market ....
__________________
Derrkins
GuyBarTola
********************
PT 2018; Nuendo 8.?; Studio One 3; former Sonar and Sequoia user .... GENELEC 1031A, AVANTONE MIX CUBES (Active); Sibelius 7.0; Dorico; Mac Mini 2.6 GHz Core i7, OS X 10.12.2 Sierra; 16GB RAM; 480 GB System SSD; 1 TB 7200 rpm Audio; 3 TB samples; Roland A-800 Pro controller; GOOD BYE PEE SEA!!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-17-2007, 01:48 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: computer in other room...long cords?

I used a 50 foot VGA extention in an AV setup a few years back.
There was a very slight "ghosting"... nothing that would remotely get in the way of use with PT or even average PC usage.
I wouldn't recommend it for a graphics editing suite, though.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-17-2007, 10:01 PM
guy.fi guy.fi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: milwaukee
Posts: 398
Default Re: computer in other room...long cords?

Thanks guys. I'm going to try it, I'll let you know how it goes.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe
Pentium Q9550 @ 3.4 ghz
Corsair 1066 RAM


www.guyfi.com
www.flystudiosmilwaukee.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:01 PM
outoftune outoftune is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 24
Default Re: computer in other room...how long can cords be

you should check out silentpcreview.com
trying to make your pc quieter would save you the hassle and the added problems of running extension cables. simple stuff like swapping out fans will make a huge difference.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-30-2007, 07:36 PM
guy.fi guy.fi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: milwaukee
Posts: 398
Default Re: computer in other room...how long can cords be

Well, I've been using these long cables for a while now with no change in performance. My control room is silent!
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe
Pentium Q9550 @ 3.4 ghz
Corsair 1066 RAM


www.guyfi.com
www.flystudiosmilwaukee.com
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-31-2007, 09:53 AM
SixChurchStreet SixChurchStreet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 1,299
Default Re: computer in other room...how long can cords be

I use very long VGA cabling for Audio Visual installations, and it's usually fine, as long as it's good quality large gauge cable. If needed you can use a booster in between to amplify the signal a little more if you're experiencing ghosting. I've easily run 100'+ without a problem.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 2.4GHz 8-Core 16GB RAM High Sierra | Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 Mk2 | Pro Tools 2020 | Studio One 4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Like to move computer & drives to next room - cable length? arthur s 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-13-2007 06:31 AM
How far is your computer from your control room? wiota Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 07-24-2005 07:50 AM
How can I put the computer and hard drives in a machine room. rodrigal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 08-27-2001 03:46 AM
can I leave my computer on 4 long periods? tross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-09-2001 05:25 AM
Planning machine room for noisey computer / bit 3, advice please Tips & Tricks 16 07-16-2000 03:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com