Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2004, 01:12 PM
Nathanael Nathanael is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 104
Default ProTools crashes when opening from firewire

As of today (never before has this happened) Pro Tools crashes when I open a session located on my Firewire Drive. It doesn't even fully open the session before it crashes. Does anybody know why this is happening? I'm using a 002 on a g4 os X ProTools 6.0.2 Thanks and I appreciate it!
__________________
Nathanael J. Lew

Audio Enthusiast
Rock and Roll please.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2004, 05:09 PM
clutch clutch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: wellington, nz
Posts: 459
Default Re: ProTools crashes when opening from firewire

Do you have PT open first and are then trying to open the session?
Did you have the drive mounted already when you opened PT?
What is the status of the drive in the workspace window?
Have you checked the drive with somthing like Disk Warrior?
can you create a new session on the drive that works?
Have you tried importing tracks from the original session into one that works? Will that playback/record?

these and other questions....
__________________
He used to cut the grass...he was a very nice boy...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2004, 06:51 PM
Nathanael Nathanael is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 104
Default Re: ProTools crashes when opening from firewire

-It happens when I have PT open first, as well as when I double click on the session file.
-It happens when I create a new session. Sometimes the newly created session is corrupt from quitting before it's fully created.
-This issue occurs on all PT sessions located on my Lacie.
-Sessions located on my internal disk work fine
-If I drag a session off my lacie, onto the desktop, and launch it, the session works
-The drive was mounted when I opened PT.
-Haven't checked the drive with disk warrior, but other files (Documents, mp3s, etc) work when launched from the Lacie.
-I imported a file from a Lacie PT session to a session located on my internal drive and the audio file worked in the session

Not good: When I open a session from my internal disk, create a new track, set the disk allocation for that track to my Lacie and record, it pops a warning: "Could not complete your request because: Neo Access Error..."
Tried recording to my Lacie a second time, in the same fasion, and it just "Unexpectedly Quit"

Out of ideas... Any suggestions would be much appreciated!
__________________
Nathanael J. Lew

Audio Enthusiast
Rock and Roll please.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2004, 07:15 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: ProTools crashes when opening from firewire

You didn't install that silverlining software that comes with the Lacie did you? There have also been reports of firewire drives suddenly not being recognized by protools as acceptable volumes (especially after upgrades) and the only fix was to back up the drive and re-format using Apple's disk utility again.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2004, 11:12 PM
Nathanael Nathanael is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 104
Default Re: ProTools crashes when opening from firewire

Nada, no silverlining software for me. I do appreciate the suggestions, anybody got any other ideas?
__________________
Nathanael J. Lew

Audio Enthusiast
Rock and Roll please.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2004, 12:50 PM
Nathanael Nathanael is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 104
Default Re: ProTools crashes when opening from firewire

The problem doesn't exist in ProTools 5.2.3 on Mac OS 9.2.2. Only OS 10.2.8 Pro Tools 6... Wouldn't it be grand in a world without upgrades......
__________________
Nathanael J. Lew

Audio Enthusiast
Rock and Roll please.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2004, 06:55 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 1,071
Default Re: ProTools crashes when opening from firewire

Trash the Digidesign database folder on all mounted drives. Then try to open the session again.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
M1MAX Mac Studio OS 12.6, PT2022.12, HDX, D-Command
M1 PRO MacBook Pro OS 13.1, PT2022.12, BabyFacePro FS
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2004, 12:44 PM
Nathanael Nathanael is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 104
Default Re: ProTools crashes when opening from firewire

And it's as simple as that. I didn't even know that folder existed or what it does. Either way, PT is seeing the drive and it's working fine now. I'm in debt. Let me know if you hane any oddball issues that I may have experienced before and could help you with. Thanks everybody for your helpful tips.

Peace,

Nathanael
__________________
Nathanael J. Lew

Audio Enthusiast
Rock and Roll please.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools crashes on opening sessions Etienne_C Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-29-2010 07:31 AM
OS Crashes when opening protools schumach 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-25-2008 10:43 AM
protools crashes while opening straight cash 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 01-23-2007 11:04 AM
ProTools LE 6.4 crashes when opening a session olguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-07-2004 05:13 PM
Opening new session crashes Protools Studiomeijer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-21-2003 05:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com