Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-16-2001, 05:45 AM
Dag Dag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 28
Default How many plug-ins simultaneous...

Hi,

pls, how many plug-ins can I run same time on Digi001 system with let's say PIII800 Mhz.

If I use 24 tracks, I would need 24 EQs, cca. 16 Comps and then it becomes tough:
reverbs use most proc. power, delay and chorus are less demanding.

Do you guys have practical (and not overblown) experiences/figures?

I thank you in advance for your effort.

Dag.

[ August 16, 2001: Message edited by: Dag ]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-16-2001, 06:01 AM
Gr0und_Zer0 Gr0und_Zer0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 240
Default Re: How many plug-ins simultaneous...

Try the Davec test!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2001, 10:18 AM
Dag Dag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 28
Default Re: How many plug-ins simultaneous...

it is misunderstanding, Ground, I do not have Digi001 yet, I'm considering to buy it (it depends of your and other's guys replies)...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2001, 02:34 PM
dsteele dsteele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: West Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 142
Default Re: How many plug-ins simultaneous...

Don't forget you can audiosuite any effects you are happy with and don't need to play with more.

I mostly use the Waves plugins, and the more complex ones, Rverb, RCL, etc take up a fair chunk of CPU, I will usually audiosuite some of them, to keep the basic EQ etc available for all the tracks.

For comparison, the engineer at a Digidesign
demo showed us his Ricky Martin mixes that were done with a 10 card mix-plus system that cost nearly $100,000. We really do pretty well with a single CPU but you probably can't do everything ( in realtime anyway ).

D.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-17-2001, 01:45 AM
QuikDraw's Avatar
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Azle, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,116
Default Re: How many plug-ins simultaneous...

I'm using the Digi 001 on a PIII 650. A typical session for my rock band uses about 19 audio tracks. I'll usually have at least 1 1band EQ on each. I don't compress every track, so I'll usually only be running 4 or 5 compressors and/or limiters. The Digirack EQs and compressor/limiters and De-essing plugs seem to use almost no processing power. I can run as many of these as I need it seems. The Mod Delay plugs seem pretty light on the CPU as well, as I usually have at least 3 or more delay plugs running as well.

So, just to guess, I'd say that I'm probably using 24+ EQ plugs, 6 limiters, 4 compressors, 4 de-essers, 3 mod delays, 2 D-Verbs, and a Dither on a typical mix. If I go for a third D-Verb, it's all over. But reverbs are usually run on an aux serving several audio tracks, so you don't need more than one or two verbs anyway. Mixes start sounding really wierd when you have a different verb on everything.

That's on a 650MHz PC. An 800MHz machine should get noticably better performance than that.

I think GroundZero was suggesting that you read the PT Perfomance thread which uses a test called the "Davec test" to compare perfomance of different PC configurations. There are a lot of systems tested, and you should be able to decide based on that information. Here's the link to that thread:

PT Performance

Mike

[ August 16, 2001: Message edited by: QuikDraw ]
__________________
-- Mike
- HP Spectre x360 Convertible 14t-ea100 - 2.9 GHz (5.0 Max Turbo) i7-1195G7 32GB RAM, OLED 3k x 2k, Iris Xe Onboard Graphics
- Windows 11 - PT 2021.12
- PreSonus Quantum 2 - PreSonus Studio 24c - Mackie Onyx 1640i
- Samsung T3 and T5 SSDs - Various USB2/3 and Firewire HDDs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What does simultaneous in/out mean? Pro Tools Noob Sm. Caulk Tips & Tricks 9 03-27-2013 09:07 PM
888 I/O simultaneous Input. mastertstudio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 01-13-2013 01:08 PM
PT 9 and PT 10 simultaneous? Shatzer Pro Tools 10 2 10-20-2011 11:11 PM
16 simultaneous I/O on 192 greglawrence Tips & Tricks 8 02-08-2007 07:05 PM
simultaneous use of plug-ins. how to improve it? sunny sunny 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 11-23-2002 01:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com