Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-13-2022, 05:48 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,052
Default Re: iZotope RX10

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post

I’m really quite sore that I spent a lot of time with iZotope support after the release of RX9 to demonstrate that Dialog Isolate’s new dialog detection algorithm had major issues, performing worse than RX8. They thanked me profusely and agreed they should look into it. They’ve done literally nothing. It speaks volumes to me - pouring resources into a clumsy gimmick like audio-to-text and neglecting the core business.
I wonder if what you are seeing is an inability to deal with other than American accents which is something that YT vids mention in relation to RX10. Old code that hasn't been fixed. It's hilarious (not) watching a vid where the reviewer is trying the new speech detection and the words it comes up with are really bad. Sort of like when closed captioning first came on the scene. Yet YouTube's closed captioning seems to work a treat across languages and accents.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-13-2022, 07:16 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,595
Default Re: iZotope RX10

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
Perhaps it's significant that there is no thread on RX10 a week after release. How the mighty fall... when Pro Tools Expert gives it the thumbs down you know you're in trouble.

I downloaded the demo. Speech to Text is useless. But the new Spectral Recovery did occasionally produce great results in the low end on speech. It's hit and miss (as is so often the case in NR), it seemed to me that when fixing a gradual LF roll-off it coped better than an abrupt one (though I also had to massage lower mids with EQ afterwards. Listen out for general graunch along with boosting the fundamentals, sometimes its minimal, sometimes overwhelming.

But overall that's two majorly disappointing RX releases in a row. Meanwhile Acon go from strength to strength, and Waves Clarity was a remarkable surprise from out of nowhere. What else are people turning too these days?
I TOTALLY agree with you guy about a lot of this. Also the Clarity thing is working great on a current project. It works as advertised. Whatever they are doing under the hood and with some crafting, I was able to use it on this new series I am doing and it totally sped up my workflow here. I have been using a bit of RX9 and some of 10 in some cases, but the less and less. RX is still a good tool for the clicks and pops etc. that are troublesome, but for the most part not really needing to go there. YUP, Spectral Repair, not really what I thought it would be. Repair Assist PlugIn for in the session? Not really great either. I think Sonible has better AI to be honest. That's what Izotope needs to work on. Just grabbed Ozone 10 Advanced update for $149 as well at midnight PST and installed. Not sure I'll use it this week on this job, but might compare it with Ozone 9 and check back. Also I noticed there is NO Standalone in the Ozone 10 Advanced version and looks like from what I read that there will not be for the regular one? Can't tell.. Something about a subscription based plan for access. Too bad. Sometimes the is handy on a laptop for me to fire off compliance masters to someone.
G
__________________
Composer/Sound Designer/Protools 2022.10 Ultimate, Avid MTRX. DADMAN MOM Monitoring, KLANG:quelle 4 Channel Dante™ Network Headphone Amp, DVS,MADI, Mac Studio Ultra, 128 RAM/4TB SSD, Monterey 12.6.2, Digital Perf 11.2.1, Logic Pro X 10.7.6 DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-13-2022, 07:19 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,595
Default Re: iZotope RX10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
Izotope has been dropping the ball quite a lot in recent time. I'll be watching this thread for alternates.
Copy that. They need an Algorithm update.
__________________
Composer/Sound Designer/Protools 2022.10 Ultimate, Avid MTRX. DADMAN MOM Monitoring, KLANG:quelle 4 Channel Dante™ Network Headphone Amp, DVS,MADI, Mac Studio Ultra, 128 RAM/4TB SSD, Monterey 12.6.2, Digital Perf 11.2.1, Logic Pro X 10.7.6 DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-13-2022, 07:37 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,052
Default Re: iZotope RX10

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
I TOTALLY agree with you guy about a lot of this. Also the Clarity thing is working great on a current project. It works as advertised. Whatever they are doing under the hood and with some crafting, I was able to use it on this new series I am doing and it totally sped up my workflow here. I have been using a bit of RX9 and some of 10 in some cases, but the less and less. RX is still a good tool for the clicks and pops etc. that are troublesome, but for the most part not really needing to go there. YUP, Spectral Repair, not really what I thought it would be. Repair Assist PlugIn for in the session? Not really great either. I think Sonible has better AI to be honest. That's what Izotope needs to work on. Just grabbed Ozone 10 Advanced update for $149 as well at midnight PST and installed. Not sure I'll use it this week on this job, but might compare it with Ozone 9 and check back. Also I noticed there is NO Standalone in the Ozone 10 Advanced version and looks like from what I read that there will not be for the regular one? Can't tell.. Something about a subscription based plan for access. Too bad. Sometimes the is handy on a laptop for me to fire off compliance masters to someone.
G
I rarely use iZotope's ai as is whether RX or Ozone; always tweak to taste.


You're not the first one to notice there's no standalone in Ozone 10 Advanced. It's being talked about over on Gearspace here: https://gearspace.com/board/new-prod...g-suite-3.html


Do you have another source for what you write? I'm not doubting it but if there's more sources it will help things. Also this subscription to gain access is troubling. I know there was a brouhaha some time back where those on subs would get features before they trickle down to those of us perpetual asset holders (most of which never happened). To take away something sucks to put it mildly.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-13-2022, 08:04 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,886
Default Re: iZotope RX10

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I wonder if what you are seeing is an inability to deal with other than American accents which is something that YT vids mention in relation to RX10. Old code that hasn't been fixed. It's hilarious (not) watching a vid where the reviewer is trying the new speech detection and the words it comes up with are really bad. Sort of like when closed captioning first came on the scene. Yet YouTube's closed captioning seems to work a treat across languages and accents.
Wait what ? , so yer sayin',,, usen's who speak plane ol' 'mercan, will be spittin' tabacky on er selfs ?
Guess Ima gonna stick ma bootes with 9
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.10 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.5.1

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-13-2022, 08:12 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: iZotope RX10

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
I noticed there is NO Standalone in the Ozone 10 Advanced version and looks like from what I read that there will not be for the regular one? Can't tell.. Something about a subscription based plan for access
Jeepers. The pitchforks really will be a-comin'.

I'm perfectly happy for every developer to have a subscription plan - with the proviso that the permanent licenses aren't affected.

As it happens, I've long abandoned Ozone standalone because they don't support Waves, but the policy is very troubling.

EDIT - just checked that Gearspace link, and someone just posted what support told them:

Quote:
"There is no standalone app in Ozone 10.

It was retired due to little usage over the years and instead we wanted to use the teams to add new compelling improvements and updates like the stabilizer and impact modules."
So wow. No more Mothership. I thought that was the main point? A mastering app (volume compensation pre/post bypass was its best feature). Another highly questionable decision from iZotope.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2021 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-13-2022, 11:03 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,052
Default Re: iZotope RX10

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
Jeepers. The pitchforks really will be a-comin'.

I'm perfectly happy for every developer to have a subscription plan - with the proviso that the permanent licenses aren't affected.

As it happens, I've long abandoned Ozone standalone because they don't support Waves, but the policy is very troubling.

EDIT - just checked that Gearspace link, and someone just posted what support told them:



So wow. No more Mothership. I thought that was the main point? A mastering app (volume compensation pre/post bypass was its best feature). Another highly questionable decision from iZotope.
Disaster is my word for it. I loved the standalone for mastering so I didn't have to fireup PT or Wavelab. I'm NOT paying $149 for Ozone 10 Advanced just to lose functionality.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-13-2022, 04:33 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,137
Default Re: iZotope RX10

RE Ozone: I hope they've optimized it. Certainly the standalone makes sense with mastering for several reasons. One of which is the plugins are a resource hog.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-13-2022, 07:11 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,052
Default Re: iZotope RX10

Update:
I installed Ozone 10 Advanced trial and the plugins work just fine in PT 2021.6 running in OSX 10.13.6
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-13-2022, 09:17 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,595
Default Re: iZotope RX10

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I rarely use iZotope's ai as is whether RX or Ozone; always tweak to taste.


You're not the first one to notice there's no standalone in Ozone 10 Advanced. It's being talked about over on Gearspace here: https://gearspace.com/board/new-prod...g-suite-3.html


Do you have another source for what you write? I'm not doubting it but if there's more sources it will help things. Also this subscription to gain access is troubling. I know there was a brouhaha some time back where those on subs would get features before they trickle down to those of us perpetual asset holders (most of which never happened). To take away something sucks to put it mildly.
I am aware.. As I mentioned it in my info. Analysis does work, but you have to use it sparingly. I will get you started, but I use my ears of course. Been doing this a while-:). The New Ozone 10 IS much better in my opinion. WAY BETTER. Just dont' need the AI really, but the one in there does work on a different level.

Here is a tweet from iZotope today as well as FB:


iZotope

@iZotopeInc
·
5h
Replying to
@GregoryIves
The Ozone app has gone un-used by the vast majority of our customers, so we've decided to retire it with this version of Ozone. This allows our team to focus on adding more innovation into the core product experience itself.
__________________
Composer/Sound Designer/Protools 2022.10 Ultimate, Avid MTRX. DADMAN MOM Monitoring, KLANG:quelle 4 Channel Dante™ Network Headphone Amp, DVS,MADI, Mac Studio Ultra, 128 RAM/4TB SSD, Monterey 12.6.2, Digital Perf 11.2.1, Logic Pro X 10.7.6 DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Izotope RX Loudness and Izotope Insight: Worth the purchase? Piano Pete General Discussion 3 01-04-2017 10:52 PM
WTB iZotope RX 1.21 gwhatley Buy & Sell 2 04-05-2013 09:42 AM
Izotope RX vs W43? Zooce Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 09-12-2010 02:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com