Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2011, 11:35 AM
amiller amiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Posts: 210
Default Soundminer importing only partial files

Anyone know what may be causing SM to (seemingly intermittently) import only a short section of a file instead of the entire file? (I'm using the lite version of SM4).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2011, 12:24 PM
lexaudio lexaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: Soundminer importing only partial files

What version of PT?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2011, 12:45 PM
paranerd paranerd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, Canada
Posts: 282
Default Re: Soundminer importing only partial files

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiller View Post
Anyone know what may be causing SM to (seemingly intermittently) import only a short section of a file instead of the entire file? (I'm using the lite version of SM4).
Are you talking about the imported files in SoundMiner's database are partials? Are you sure that the files themselves are not partials?
__________________
The Postman Post-Production Studio
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada

IMDb (very partial)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2011, 02:39 PM
amiller amiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Posts: 210
Default Re: Soundminer importing only partial files

I'm on 8.0.4 MAC OS 10.5.8 PTHD3 Accel

When I go to import say a BG ambience track that might be 1.5 minutes in length, sometimes it just brings the file into my region bin but it's only about 6 to 10 seconds of the file. I go back and re-import the file a 2nd time and the full file comes in. The files themselves are fine, not partials.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2011, 06:23 PM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: where land meets sky
Posts: 2,375
Default Re: Soundminer importing only partial files

I'm sorry for this, just making sure its not a user error thing. When you have a short selection highlighted, SM brings in the whole file but shortens the regions to your selection length. The whole file is there when you pull out the handle. And, if you have a selection of SM's audition field highlighted , only that much may be imported into PT. That's not what you are having trouble with, it is?

I think an associate of mine has complained of the same thing but I've never seen it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2011, 06:37 PM
FajitaTone FajitaTone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,239
Default Re: Soundminer importing only partial files

I forget to clear selections in PT all the time. If there is a selection in the timeline, SM will in fact import the whole file, but it shows up as a region in the PT region list. If you do as Postman says and drag out the handles, you will see the region go bold in the list and now the whole file is there. (even though it always was)

Strange, but that's what happens.
__________________
Ray Trujillo
Freelance Audio Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-18-2011, 07:42 PM
ggegan ggegan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 389
Default Re: Soundminer importing only partial files

Quote:
Originally Posted by FajitaTone View Post
I forget to clear selections in PT all the time. If there is a selection in the timeline, SM will in fact import the whole file, but it shows up as a region in the PT region list. If you do as Postman says and drag out the handles, you will see the region go bold in the list and now the whole file is there. (even though it always was)

Strange, but that's what happens.
If you have a selection in SM, the same thing happens.
__________________
Gary Gegan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-18-2011, 11:20 PM
amiller amiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Posts: 210
Default Re: Soundminer importing only partial files

Quote:
Originally Posted by Postman View Post
I'm sorry for this, just making sure its not a user error thing. When you have a short selection highlighted, SM brings in the whole file but shortens the regions to your selection length. The whole file is there when you pull out the handle. And, if you have a selection of SM's audition field highlighted , only that much may be imported into PT. That's not what you are having trouble with, it is?

I think an associate of mine has complained of the same thing but I've never seen it.
I'm aware of that, and it "could" be that, but I don't typically make selections in SM. I pretty much import the entire clip and edit in PT. It's possible I might have some part selected in PT before I switch over, but it doesn't allow me to extend the region after import typically. It probably is something I'm doing like that on occasion and just not noticing. Guess I might need to slow down on occasion. :) Just wasn't sure if it was operator error or software glitch.
__________________
PT 12.7 HDX 2/Mac OS 10.10.5
2012 Mac Pro 3.46GHZ/64GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-28-2011, 06:05 PM
crg crg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35
Default Re: Soundminer importing only partial files

amiller

AS a general rule, when using SM, drag and drop the PT session doc onto Soundminer. this teaches SM where everything is supposed to go and in what format. PT is very sensitive to format differences so if your transfer parameters don't match, PT intercedes and makes new files. check your destination to make sure there aren't two of everything as well.

Turn 'zero selection' on in the SM preference pane as well.

I've never seen a partial go in unless the edit was designated in PT or SM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5.1 files in Soundminer subwoof Post - Surround - Video 13 12-03-2010 05:52 PM
importing OMF Files??? teacherman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-23-2009 08:43 AM
importing to Soundminer 4 yazoo Post - Surround - Video 14 02-28-2008 11:40 PM
Soundminer and Cantar files Studio Studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-11-2006 04:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com