Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2004, 09:07 AM
tubestudio tubestudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton UK
Posts: 2
Default Digi 002 Speaker Noise

Hello all!

I have a small problem and I'm wandering if anyone has an answer or is experiencing the same thing. I have Digi 002 rack, a quicksilver G4 (933Mhz) and a pair or Tannoy active monitors. When I have the firewire cable plugged in there is a terrible digital crackle in the speakers, constantly, even if Pro Tools is not running (it only gets worse when I boot Pro Tools up). It was suggested to me that it may be a problem with the G4, so I bought a new firewire card, it still make the crackle, so I tried it on my laptop (Titanium G4, 550Mhz), still get the crackle. If anyone has an answer to my problem please let me know.

Cheers
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2004, 09:21 AM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: Digi 002 Speaker Noise

Check your monitors with other front ends, and check the 002 with other monitors. This will determine if it's the monitors or the 002. Go from there.
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2004, 10:55 AM
G.I. Productz G.I. Productz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Milpitas, Ca. 95035
Posts: 23
Default Re: Digi 002 Speaker Noise

I had the same exact problem, and I know its annoying as hell..

Do a google search for Mac Update CHUD.

Download and install that in your system.

After installed go to your control panel. On the bottom you will see HARDWARE.

Click that and Disable NAP. All your problems should be fixed. Mine were...
__________________
G.I. Productz
1806 Milmont Dr.#238
Milpitas, CA. 95035
www.giproductz.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2004, 04:13 PM
lambro3 lambro3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 94
Default Re: Digi 002 Speaker Noise

if the CHUD does not work, make sure you are using balanced speaker cable, TRS to XLR if you monitios can take and XLR.

_G
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2004, 10:37 AM
tubestudio tubestudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton UK
Posts: 2
Default Re: Digi 002 Speaker Noise

I'll try that out,

Thanks
for your help

Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-2004, 11:55 AM
JFrazier JFrazier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 89
Default Re: Digi 002 Speaker Noise

-
Is that a solution for PBooks too? I thought it was just G5's.

We have a horrible crackle problem when using the ALT SRC to monitor at work (dual G4 to 002).

Now I'm having the same problem on my PBook and 002Rack. It used to be bearable, now it's a mess.

Consider the chain:
PBook -> Firewire port -> Firewire drive -> Firewire drive -> 002R

PBook -> USB port -> emi6|2 (computer sounds, itunes, etc.) (rca out to rca 002R ALT SRC in's)

Unplugging the RCA's going into ALT SRC cuts the problem in half (can still hear crackle with nothing plugged into ALT SRC with ALT SRC to monitor selected, pot at +2 o'clock)

WITH the RCA's plugged into ALT SRC to monitor, the noise is present and obtrusive at the 10 o'clock position.

I'll investigate the CHUD thing... this is ridiculous.

any other ideas? Thanks tons! Nothing like spending a wonderful day in Chicago at the computer trying to trouble shoot crackling noises.

jim
-
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-09-2004, 12:28 PM
JFrazier JFrazier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 89
Default Re: Digi 002 Speaker Noise

-
CHUD worked out really well!

There's still noise, but it's not as crackly, and you have to crank the monitors to hear it. ALSO, I believe I have to "uncheck" the NAP box every time I reboot... not a big deal.

The tell-tale sign, too, is to drag your cursor around the DOCK icons while you're in FINDER... that's when it really comes through.

ANYWAY.

THANKS A TON!

jim
-
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1kHz PC & Speaker Noise - HELP!!! dbooth Windows 17 09-14-2014 09:50 PM
Speaker Noise only when PT launches Mdubbs818 macOS 1 08-11-2013 05:29 AM
Weird Noise Through Speaker... VTI Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 08-31-2011 04:43 PM
Control 24 speaker noise problem dvodesilva ICON & C|24 4 12-26-2009 07:09 AM
weird (not white noise) in right speaker in any app paul5mq 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-12-2009 03:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com