Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-10-2021, 04:11 PM
EdgarRothermich's Avatar
EdgarRothermich EdgarRothermich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Hollywood
Posts: 283
Default Re: Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by lavastudios View Post
Hey gang,

I'm pretty anal about how I have things organised on my computer, and I do not like clutter in my Applications folder. I have all my audio programs in a subfolder within my Applications folder
Same situation here.
Back in the pre OS X times I had my Applications organized by categories (Audio, Video, Data, Text, etc.). OS X doesn't like that and wants to have all the Applications (and other Application-related crap) in that one Applications directory that you have to scroll up and down half a mile.

However, I still keep my category subfolders in my Applications folder and move any third-party apps in there. The only apps I leave in the Applications folder are the ones that are stubborn or rely on some mechanism to "see" the app or file there (which is really annoying).
With Pro Tools, I just leave the app there to avoid any strange behaviors that might result from the "different than expected location"
__________________
Edgar Rothermich
Author of "Pro Tools 2020 - How it Works"
from the Graphically Enhanced Manuals (GEM) series
http://DingDingMusic.com/
YouTube Channel Music Tech Explained https://YouTube.com/c/MusicTechExplained/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-10-2021, 05:00 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,529
Default Re: Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

macOS is UNIX which means applications can be anywhere that is accessible to the user. You can very well have your non-system applications in -say- user home directory slash applications, and have that folder on your dock. It requires extra maintenance but is possible.

Same way you can have your user home directory on another drive, does not need to be system drive.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-11-2021, 07:22 AM
lavastudios lavastudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8
Default Re: Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

I've done a bit of googling and found a pretty good solution - create a new folder, call it something like "My Applications", then create aliases for all the apps you regularly use and arrange them however you like in that folder. Then you can put a shortcut to that folder on the dock and use that instead. Bonus - none of the Apple fluff needs to be cluttering up that folder (Chess, Photo Booth etc.) Only issue is, the icons all have the little arrow in the corner to announce that they are aliases. It used to be an easy fix to remove these arrows, but more recent versions of OS X give you less freedom to do this kind of thing. You have to turn of System Integrity Protection to fiddle with that stuff now, and even then I've read mixed results as to whether it will work. Not a bad workaround if you can live with the little arrows though.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-11-2021, 08:30 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,905
Default Re: Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

Ever since the Dock came to mac I've been using that for this kind of app launch organizing thing. I strip the dock of everything except a couple of basics like mail, browser, messenger and such, then I have a folder for each category of applications; Audio, video, photo, utilities and other, each with aliases of the application I need there. No need for "launch pad" or diving into applications folder.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (2022.12 beta for testing)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-11-2021, 09:21 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,148
Default Re: Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

I have finally found a good use for Spotlight. I have a shortcut assigned to Show Spotlight Search (ctrl-opt-cmd-spacebar) then I start typing the name of the app and hit enter. Just like the new plugin search feature in Pro Tools. It has really reduced the amount of time I spend mousing to open apps.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-12-2021, 01:27 PM
EdgarRothermich's Avatar
EdgarRothermich EdgarRothermich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Hollywood
Posts: 283
Default Re: Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by originalscottyg View Post
I have finally found a good use for Spotlight. I have a shortcut assigned to Show Spotlight Search (ctrl-opt-cmd-spacebar) then I start typing the name of the app and hit enter. Just like the new plugin search feature in Pro Tools. It has really reduced the amount of time I spend mousing to open apps.
Spotlight Search is my prefered way to launch Application that I know the name of and don't have a key command for. Usually, you only have to type the first few letters and it auto-fills, press enter and off you go.
__________________
Edgar Rothermich
Author of "Pro Tools 2020 - How it Works"
from the Graphically Enhanced Manuals (GEM) series
http://DingDingMusic.com/
YouTube Channel Music Tech Explained https://YouTube.com/c/MusicTechExplained/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Move AIR Music Technology folder in Applications folder??? JCK43232 Pro Tools 11 7 03-23-2015 06:36 AM
Plug In folder/support folder corrupted?? jeffpardo Pro Tools 11 0 05-30-2014 08:46 AM
Why is there a VSTPlugins folder under my Avid folder? EnjoyRC Windows 1 10-28-2011 12:55 PM
Why can't I set my plugins root settings folder outside PT's default folder? RiF Pro Tools 9 4 09-26-2011 01:11 PM
Plug-Ins Alias folder points to wrong folder??? nod25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-26-2009 04:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com