Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2021, 09:11 AM
lavastudios lavastudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8
Default Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

Hey gang,

I just upgraded to PT 2020.12, and after running it I noticed that it has created two folders in my Applications folder (Avid and Avid_Uninstallers). I'm pretty anal about how I have things organised on my computer, and I do not like clutter in my Applications folder. I have all my audio programs in a subfolder within my Applications folder, and some time ago I gave up using any plugins or other audio software that stubbornly refused to be moved into that subfolder. So I moved these new Avid folders into my Audio Applications subfolder, but upon opening Pro Tools again, the Avid folder reappears in the main Applications folder. Does anyone know if there is any way to stop this happening? I'm aware this is a first world problem, but still.

In case it matters, here are my system specs:

MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015)
Processor 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics AMD Radeon R9 M370X 2 GB
Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB
OS X Mojave 10.14.6

Thanks!
Simon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2021, 09:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,529
Default Re: Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

You just need to delete the unnecessary folders after every update, if you are "anal" about it
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2021, 09:26 AM
lavastudios lavastudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8
Default Re: Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

Thanks for your reply JFreak. If it was only every update I needed to delete it, that wouldn't be a problem. Unfortunately, the Avid folder reappears in my Applications folder every time I start Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2021, 09:28 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,529
Default Re: Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

Does not happen here, curious why it happens there
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2021, 09:52 AM
lavastudios lavastudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8
Default Re: Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

Hmmm, weird. Does anyone else have this same behaviour with their setup?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2021, 12:06 PM
paul_g's Avatar
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 729
Default Re: Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

Yes, I have Avid and Avid_Uninstallers in my applications folder.
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 12.6 Monterey
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2022.10
EuCon 4.8.6.41 / 2022.9.0.41
UA Luna
UAD 10.1.1
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10 - 21.8.1.0
HX Edit 3.50
PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub
Songs from Outta The Blue
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2021, 12:54 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,529
Default Re: Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul_g View Post
Yes, I have Avid and Avid_Uninstallers in my applications folder.
Of course you have, but if you delete them do they magically re-appear?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-10-2021, 03:32 PM
paul_g's Avatar
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 729
Default Re: Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

That's silly, why would I that? :)
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 12.6 Monterey
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2022.10
EuCon 4.8.6.41 / 2022.9.0.41
UA Luna
UAD 10.1.1
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10 - 21.8.1.0
HX Edit 3.50
PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub
Songs from Outta The Blue
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2021, 03:37 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,529
Default Re: Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul_g View Post
That's silly, why would I that? :)
If you were "anal" about things you might
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-10-2021, 03:48 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,905
Default Re: Avid folder insists on living in my Applications folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul_g View Post
That's silly, why would I that? :)
You might see that it takes up a bit of disk space.
There is the Avid Virtual Instruments folder, over 3GB, and personally, due to a very small flash boot drive in my case, I have made a symlink that points to a copy on another disk, and it works fine.
But I'm shure these folders are are fundamental to PT hierachy, and I'm not surprised if they are recreated if they're missing.
The Pro Tools folder in Documents also behaves somewhat similar as I recall.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (2022.12 beta for testing)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Move AIR Music Technology folder in Applications folder??? JCK43232 Pro Tools 11 7 03-23-2015 06:36 AM
Plug In folder/support folder corrupted?? jeffpardo Pro Tools 11 0 05-30-2014 08:46 AM
Why is there a VSTPlugins folder under my Avid folder? EnjoyRC Windows 1 10-28-2011 12:55 PM
Why can't I set my plugins root settings folder outside PT's default folder? RiF Pro Tools 9 4 09-26-2011 01:11 PM
Plug-Ins Alias folder points to wrong folder??? nod25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-26-2009 04:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com