Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2020, 06:26 AM
dgdsu dgdsu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Berlin | London
Posts: 29
Default Prevent Pro Tools from disabling screensaver on Windows 10

Hello everyone,

I hope you are well in these strange times!

As the title says, we have very expensive color grading computer displays running and this is a shared Audio and Video editing / Color grading suite which does has a minor issue which is not that minor at a second look:

When Pro Tools is running it somehow hijacks and locks the system settings for screensaving without notifying the user and it ignores the screensaver (go to black) setting to keep it up all the time. What is more then problematic since the expensive color grading displays run into the risk of burn out in times when a longer meeting call comes in or the studio break takes longer but sessions need to stay open.

While arguing if this is best practise for some reasons or not the even more problematic issue is that it doesn't tell the user, so we were very surprised when we came back into the enginieering room finding the displays running and showing the open static Pro Tools windows for 2 hours now. Which is not good.

Any ideas what is going on or if there is any "hidden setting" or manual way to change that behaviour which seems somewhat intended and not able to turn off.

(My specs: Windows 10 Pro x64 with Intel Xeon CPU E5-2630 v4 @ 2.20GHz, 2201 Mhz, 10/20 Core(s) - 64 GB Ram - AVID Pro Tools (Native) - AVID Media Composer - AVID Eucon artist series)

Last edited by dgdsu; 05-15-2020 at 10:39 PM. Reason: Resave to show signature with tech. details
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2020, 07:35 AM
Wolfgang Eller Wolfgang Eller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Prevent Pro Tools from disabling screensaver on Windows 10

As you can read here (go to Adjust Power Options) there is no option to activate the screensaver.
Why not switching off your monitor when it isn't needed?
__________________
www.srs-mastering.de
Mac Pro 6.1-8core, OS 10.15, PT2021, HDX2, Sonnet Echo Express III-R, Madi Interface.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2020, 08:20 AM
dgdsu dgdsu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Berlin | London
Posts: 29
Default Re: Prevent Pro Tools from disabling screensaver on Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfgang Eller View Post
As you can read here (go to Adjust Power Options) there is no option to activate the screensaver.
Why not switching off your monitor when it isn't needed?
Thanks for your thoughts. Very much appreciated! Well - first - the position of them is not that distinct to do that frequenty stretching the arms over the mixing console to that. The pther mention: yeah I know this link, but I hoped there something more we can do here (like or trick or something to wokr around this)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2020, 09:29 AM
Wolfgang Eller Wolfgang Eller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Prevent Pro Tools from disabling screensaver on Windows 10

What about a HDMI switch box with remote?
I think it's better to switch the input as to switch the power.
Is your monitor able to go into black (instead of blue or whatever) if there's no input?
__________________
www.srs-mastering.de
Mac Pro 6.1-8core, OS 10.15, PT2021, HDX2, Sonnet Echo Express III-R, Madi Interface.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2020, 12:20 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,283
Default Re: Prevent Pro Tools from disabling screensaver on Windows 10

You can set an override for process power requests. Run a Command window as Administrator (Win-R, type cmd, ctrl-shift-enter). Type or copy paste this at the command prompt:
powercfg /requestsoverride process ProTools.exe display
Press enter to override the PT setting. This is persistent in the power settings for the machine and should allow the displays to be powered off as defined in the active Power Plan. To remove the override use
powercfg /requestsoverride process ProTools.exe

Don't know why PT interrupts the display power off so there may be unanticipated issues/consequences here, but it's a pretty benign setting. UAYOR
__________________
PT 2022.12 DP 11.21 MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win11
PT 2022.12 DP 11.21 828es ADA8200 MTP-AV HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win11
2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 VEP 7.x hosting various VIs

Last edited by ChuckS; 05-15-2020 at 12:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2020, 09:22 PM
dgdsu dgdsu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Berlin | London
Posts: 29
Default Re: Prevent Pro Tools from disabling screensaver on Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfgang Eller View Post
What about a HDMI switch box with remote?
Excellent point! Will consider this. From what I remember (not in the suite atm) they would go idle/black and power safe, which would be great.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
You can set an override for process power requests. Run a Command window as Administrator (Win-R, type cmd, ctrl-shift-enter). Type or copy paste this at the command prompt:
powercfg /requestsoverride process ProTools.exe display
Press enter to override the PT setting. This is persistent in the power settings for the machine and should allow the displays to be powered off as defined in the active Power Plan. To remove the override use
powercfg /requestsoverride process ProTools.exe
Smart solution too! And yeah, don't worry - I am a terminal user and partly develop tools here for our needs. So command line basic info not required for hinting on such ideas. But very kind of you to explain in detail. Who can know the users asking And thanks for bringing powercfg back to mind. I should also run powercfg /energy first and check what's going on there to not accidently overlook some issues.

@ both - Thanks for your thoughts and time on this! Please take care and stay safe!

--
Windows 10 Pro x64 with Intel Xeon CPU E5-2630 v4 @ 2.20GHz, 2201 Mhz, 10/20 Core(s) - 64 GB Ram - AVID Pro Tools (Native) - AVID Media Composer - AVID Eucon artist series

Last edited by dgdsu; 05-15-2020 at 10:40 PM. Reason: Resave to show my specs and signature
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-16-2020, 06:53 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,283
Default Re: Prevent Pro Tools from disabling screensaver on Windows 10

If you run powercfg /requests while PT is running, you can see that PT has a display entry. That's what's disabling the counter for screensaver.
__________________
PT 2022.12 DP 11.21 MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win11
PT 2022.12 DP 11.21 828es ADA8200 MTP-AV HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win11
2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 VEP 7.x hosting various VIs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
solution ! disabling hyperthreading on new mac pro running windows music project 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-02-2009 09:15 AM
Certain Plug-ins prevent Pro Tools from launching cpignatelli 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 25 08-23-2008 12:13 PM
screensaver for pro tools sbag Tips & Tricks 7 08-22-2008 08:05 PM
How Prevent Windows XP from spinning up unused USB HDD ? jeam25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-09-2007 10:51 AM
Win XP: BIOS disabling or Device Manager disabling ?? mandal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 11-23-2007 04:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com