Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2021, 06:06 AM
MrTOe MrTOe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 2
Default Error: Assertion in "d:\...cpp", line 1701.

Hi everybody,

I am using a Dell XPS 13 9365.

I installed a focusrite scarlett 2i2 3rd gen and Pro Tools First. I open Pro Tools First as administrator, because otherwise I also get an error message. When I try to create a new project (doesn't matter if I take one from the template or not), I see the following message:

Could not save as "0000" because Assertion in "d:\ code\ scm\ protools\ release\ 2020\ r2\ protools\ app\ document\ uprojectbundlemgr.cpp", line 1701.

Anybody out there who can help?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2021, 07:02 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,475
Default Re: Error: Assertion in "d:\...cpp", line 1701.

First, make sure you are using the latest version of Pro Tools First. You can get the latest from your Avid account in the My Products section.

Next make sure that Windows is not using your audio interface as the default sound device.

Lastly, check to make sure that your Focusrite is the active device in the Pro Tools Playback Engine. If you are having trouble getting to the Playback Engine, hold down the N key while Pro Tools First is loading and wait until the Playback Engine dialog is displayed.

After doing all of these, try to create a new session.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2021, 11:31 PM
MrTOe MrTOe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 2
Default Re: Error: Assertion in "d:\...cpp", line 1701.

Hi Will,


thanks a lot for your answer!


I installed Pro Tools April, 1st, the version is Pro_Tools_First_2020.9. So that should be the right one. I also followed the other steps, but unfortunately it didn't help. Any other suggestions?


Thanks in advance and have a nice weekend!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-11-2021, 09:54 AM
Netmania Netmania is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 82
Default Re: Error: Assertion in "d:\...cpp", line 1701.

Newest Version is Pro Tools 2021.3. Please try that and make sure that Pro Tools First and it's directories are all installed on Drive C: .Otherwise it won't work.

Best
__________________
MacBook Air M1, 8 Gb, 512 GB Apple SSD, 512 Gb Samsung Evo 970 NvME TB3 SSD, 1000 GB Crucial P1 TB3 SSD, macOs 11.4, RME Babyface blue,
_____________________________________________
Pro Tools 2021.3.1
Pro Tools First 2021.3
Logic Pro 10.6.2
Cubase 10.5 Elements
Wavelab Elements 10
_____________________________________________

Music was my first love - shine on
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-20-2021, 01:37 PM
Mahieu Mahieu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: France
Posts: 23
Default Re: Error: Assertion in "d:\...cpp", line 1701.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrTOe View Post
Hi Will,
thanks a lot for your answer!
I installed Pro Tools April, 1st, the version is Pro_Tools_First_2020.9. So that should be the right one. I also followed the other steps, but unfortunately it didn't help. Any other suggestions?
Thanks in advance and have a nice weekend!
Each time I heard something about this crash, the hardware is a Dell.
I have the same problem with my Dell / Realtek.
I have switched to another DAW as there is absolutely no solution.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could not create a new document because Assertion in "/Volumes/Dev..." line 1813 theholdingcoat macOS 22 12-16-2019 10:07 PM
Error Messages- "Read Only" & "Assertion" KimmieMcD33 macOS 4 05-23-2017 03:20 AM
Help for Error Message - Assertion in "..\Mdie_TrackPlayer.cpp", line 476 lbpease Pro Tools 10 7 01-05-2014 12:15 PM
Recording error Assertion in"/line 476 fast track pro. Rizen macOS 2 12-10-2013 03:58 PM
assertion in "..\Mdie_TrackPlayer.cpp", line 469 / access violation/ DAE error -9400 thibault 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-22-2013 05:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com