Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2021, 02:53 AM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 414
Default 2021.3 constant hangs

Is anyone else getting constant PT hangs when doing simple edits? I wasn't seeing this on 2020.12, but now when I do something simple ~ e.g. zoom in on a waveform and try to drag the crossfade over, Pro Tools hangs completely, requiring a force quit.


Happened five times in a row, within one minute of opening the session. Restarted the computer, no other apps running (not even Time Machine or Google Drive Sync etc). No time to troubleshoot, so I'm gonna go back to 2020.12 and see if it works better.
__________________
* Mojave Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme
* PT 2020.12 / Ableton Suite 10 / Spitfire Labs <3
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter
* Steinberg ur-c / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies

Last edited by huzzam; 03-26-2021 at 07:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2021, 07:02 AM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 414
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

FYI I rolled back to 2020.12 and the problem has disappeared. No one else is noticing this issue?
__________________
* Mojave Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme
* PT 2020.12 / Ableton Suite 10 / Spitfire Labs <3
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter
* Steinberg ur-c / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2021, 07:26 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,428
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

Nope runs great here PTU 2021.3. No hangs or issues and we run 200+ track songs with many VI and automation althoguh barely no plugins as we use hardware. We do have melodyne 5 and some guitar cabs from UHE and a few soothe2 tracks and thats about it. VI tracks are many (30-40) and some bounced in place but still atleast 30-40 VI tracks with synths and guitar stuff.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2021, 07:42 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 294
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

Quote:
Originally Posted by huzzam View Post
Is anyone else getting constant PT hangs when doing simple edits? I wasn't seeing this on 2020.12, but now when I do something simple ~ e.g. zoom in on a waveform and try to drag the crossfade over, Pro Tools hangs completely, requiring a force quit.


Happened five times in a row, within one minute of opening the session. Restarted the computer, no other apps running (not even Time Machine or Google Drive Sync etc). No time to troubleshoot, so I'm gonna go back to 2020.12 and see if it works better.
No issues so far here. What GPU do you have in your Hackintosh? I wonder if some graphics acceleration is having issues.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Radeon RX580 GPU, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 64GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3.1. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2021, 07:44 AM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 354
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

Running super solid here. Specs in sig. Current session has several heavy VI's - Omnisphere, Keyscape and Pigments. All running fine at a buffer size of 128. I could be running at 64, but I don't see the need atm.

No issues here.

tg
__________________
Win 10 Pro / i9-10850K 3.6GHz / 64 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / RME BabyFace Pro FS / Console 1 + Fader / Yamaha MODX6 / Komplete S49 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3.1 / Nuendo 11 / Reaper 6 / Komplete 13 / Omnisphere / Keyscape / Trilian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2021, 09:18 AM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 414
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
No issues so far here. What GPU do you have in your Hackintosh? I wonder if some graphics acceleration is having issues.

No discrete GPU, just the integrated graphics of the i9, uhd630. But anyway, it's a permanent hang, requiring a force quit. Usually graphics issues seem to last just a few seconds.

Interesting that it's just me, though. When I get through this bit of work I'll try again and do more troubleshooting. Luckily 2020.12 is rock solid for me... and I'm way back on Mojave (thanks to two 32-bit apps I continue to need), so no hurry to upgrade.
__________________
* Mojave Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme
* PT 2020.12 / Ableton Suite 10 / Spitfire Labs <3
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter
* Steinberg ur-c / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2021, 12:49 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,060
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

Perhaps try moving plugins to unused folder and try again. If things run smoothly, start moving the plugins in back one at a time and test to see if a particular plugin is causing the problem. It is a tedious process, but so often plugins are the cause of issues.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.4 running Protools 2021.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-26-2021, 01:34 PM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 414
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
Perhaps try moving plugins to unused folder and try again. If things run smoothly, start moving the plugins in back one at a time and test to see if a particular plugin is causing the problem. It is a tedious process, but so often plugins are the cause of issues.

yep thanks :) i know the drill... i *also* know the drill about not upgrading when you're in the middle of a project, but i did it anyway


will report back here in a few weeks, once the current project is done. always appreciated, señor dragón!
__________________
* Mojave Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme
* PT 2020.12 / Ableton Suite 10 / Spitfire Labs <3
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter
* Steinberg ur-c / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-26-2021, 01:53 PM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,256
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

okay I am getting those freezes .... especially when I open UAD console 2 and arm record a track in Pro Tools .... for no apparent reason ... is it a bug ?
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 11.3
Pro Tools 2021.3.1
Logic Pro X
Reason 11

UA Apollo 8p
Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Marshall Amp/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Yamaha FG820L/Martin DJr10e
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840/Slate VMS

http://www.youtube.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-26-2021, 01:54 PM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,256
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

is it possible to revert back by just installing 2020.12 or should I uninstall 2021.3 first ?
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 11.3
Pro Tools 2021.3.1
Logic Pro X
Reason 11

UA Apollo 8p
Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Marshall Amp/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Yamaha FG820L/Martin DJr10e
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840/Slate VMS

http://www.youtube.com/becharasaliba
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any benefit to TDM in 2021? akopp Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 05-19-2021 09:26 AM
PT 2021... Catalina? Or Big Sur? Eric Lambert Pro Tools 2021 3 03-26-2021 12:41 PM
Come on! 2021 already. Just issue what’s right. DetroitT Pro Tools 2020 0 03-05-2021 05:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com