Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 03-27-2021, 07:52 PM
AlainZagar AlainZagar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 51
Default Re: Ready to pull the plug. Yup - another goodbye post

I agree. I ran Sibelius and Protools on an i7-8700K CPU @ 3.70GHz. I had to set the buffers to 256 or 512 samples to get smooth playback. Some cores were maxed out while the rest were barely measuring 10%. That wasn't good when Sibelius, Protools and my midi performance needed to sync up. My Command8 didn't work with the motherboard.

Also, tried that trick where you start up Protools and set the affinity from the command line. I even purchased Process Lasso in order to better manage load balancing. I just ended up proving to myself that Protools hasn't been optimized to leverage newer CPUs with Windows. In my opinion, it needs a rewrite on Windows. The one thing that I'm quite certain of is that Protools performance improves more due to more GHz single core performance on new CPUs vs higher thread counts.

There is a very real bottleneck in the Virtual Instrument plugin mechanism with respect to Windows. If you watch the performance counters it's obvious that Protools isn't spreading out the processing to all available cores. One or two cores are pegged near 100% while all of the others are way down with some below 30%. The system usage meter in Protools looks like a triangle instead of a wavy line.

Folks here manage to get a stable system using I3 and I5 machines but I'm quite certain the Virtual Instrument count is low in comparison to the straight analog processing.

Appreciate the feedback and best of luck with your career. Sounds like you're living the dream with that work you do.

Cheers!

Alain

P.S. re. 2021.3 got the graphics problem resolved. Had to override DPI scaling and set it to "System".

P.P.S Midi isn't working for some reason.
__________________
6 Core Intel Xeon X5690, 4200 MHz
P6T DELUXE V2 (BIOS 1202 ) 24GB DDR3, GeForce GTX 1060 3GB
SSDs, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit 10.0.19042.867
Protools 2020.12, Studio One V5.2, Sibelius Ultimate 2021.2, VSL
Command8, Motu M4
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 03-27-2021, 08:45 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 455
Default Re: Ready to pull the plug. Yup - another goodbye post

Ah, glad you mentioned buffers! With VIs in the mix it's pretty damn near impossible to work with 32 or 64 buffers. I always use 256 as a minimum and with big sessions I go to 512. This doesn't bother me at all. If I didn't do this, I'd get plenty of errors too.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Catalina, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-28-2021, 06:09 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,428
Default Re: Ready to pull the plug. Yup - another goodbye post

This is the Longest Goodbye Ever

Maybe we talked you into rethinking leaving ....
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-29-2021, 01:35 AM
Simon2065 Simon2065 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 29
Default Re: Ready to pull the plug. Yup - another goodbye post

Parting is such sweet sorrow
__________________
Simon2065

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12 Win 10 Gigabyte GA-Z270 i7-7700K 32GB Ram UAD Apollo
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-29-2021, 06:27 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,845
Default Re: Ready to pull the plug. Yup - another goodbye post

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlainZagar View Post
[snip] Xeon 5690 6 core CPUs with hyperthreading enabled, several 1 TB Samsung SSDs each. The first has 12gb RAM [snip]
The second machine has 24Gb RAM (ASUS P6T V2 Deluxe mother board can't take more),
Um. Yeah. Sorry, but PT isn't the problem, here, nor is Windows. You're overdue for an upgrade. For composing these days, don't even consider working with less than 64 GB. Maybe as little as 32 GB for beginners and amateurs. 64 minimum for doing actual work. 128 GB for future-proofing.

I recently bought a refurb Windows machine with 24 cores of Xeon and 64 GB of RAM for less than $1000. Big orchestral templates, no hitches at HWB of 64 using an old Firewire interface. It's not that expensive these days to get what you need.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2021.3 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Catalina in a Trashcan 32GB
PT 2021.3 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack - Ready to Pull Trigger but: mrgroovy Eleven Rack 9 05-31-2011 07:07 AM
Eleven Rack - Ready to Pull Trigger but: mrgroovy Eleven Rack 6 05-27-2011 06:37 PM
PT9 - ready to pull the trigger, but? Darney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 12-01-2010 03:43 PM
READY TO PULL MY HAIR OUT!! *MIDI Question* carrow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 08-03-2005 03:06 AM
HD for Post, is it ready yet? mazuroo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 07-12-2002 09:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com