Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2021, 09:28 AM
mike62 mike62 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1
Default Avid Carbon refusing to reconnect after sleep

I've recently invested in a Carbon and it has been great apart from one major issue. After going into sleep mode and waking the computer, the NET light refuses to light up.

Unplugging and restarting the Carbon still makes it refuse to reconnect. Also, rebooting my M1 Mac Mini has to be done in a certain order (Mac, wait for Apple logo on-screen, then Carbon) in order to prompt connection. This is frustrating.

Can anybody help?

System:
Mac mini M1
macOS Big Sur 11.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2021, 11:16 AM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 502
Default Re: Avid Carbon refusing to reconnect after sleep

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike62 View Post
I've recently invested in a Carbon and it has been great apart from one major issue. After going into sleep mode and waking the computer, the NET light refuses to light up.

Unplugging and restarting the Carbon still makes it refuse to reconnect. Also, rebooting my M1 Mac Mini has to be done in a certain order (Mac, wait for Apple logo on-screen, then Carbon) in order to prompt connection. This is frustrating.

Can anybody help?

System:
Mac mini M1
macOS Big Sur 11.3.1
Thanks for letting us know. We haven't qualified M1 Macs yet so it's possible this issue is specific to those machines. We'll take a look.
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2021, 01:38 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,033
Default Re: Avid Carbon refusing to reconnect after sleep

I am under the impression that Sleep and Hibernate are not to be used on any Pro Tools setup Did that change?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2021, 02:29 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 502
Default Re: Avid Carbon refusing to reconnect after sleep

Yes, that's our general guidance and YMMV. However, so far Carbon has seemed to handle Sleep/Wake well. So, this looks like a new problem.
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2021, 07:04 PM
JTC111 JTC111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 42
Default Re: Avid Carbon refusing to reconnect after sleep

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike62 View Post
Can anybody help?
The simplest solution is to disable sleep mode. I've been running macs in my studio for 20 years and it's always the first thing when I get a new computer. There's no need for it. I do enable the screen saver and a corner hot spot to turn off my screen if I need to leave for a bit but that's all you really need.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-27-2021, 08:17 PM
tomhartman tomhartman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: boca raton, FL USA
Posts: 1,720
Default Re: Avid Carbon refusing to reconnect after sleep

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTC111 View Post
The simplest solution is to disable sleep mode. I've been running macs in my studio for 20 years and it's always the first thing when I get a new computer. There's no need for it. I do enable the screen saver and a corner hot spot to turn off my screen if I need to leave for a bit but that's all you really need.
Exactly what I do....for years and years now.
__________________
iMac 27
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2021, 02:12 AM
LFO LFO is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 143
Default Re: Avid Carbon refusing to reconnect after sleep

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I am under the impression that Sleep and Hibernate are not to be used on any Pro Tools setup Did that change?
I don't lose Carbon connexion when my iMac goes to sleep mode so far, using Protools Carbon everyday since 3 months
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-28-2021, 05:37 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,434
Default Re: Avid Carbon refusing to reconnect after sleep

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTC111 View Post
The simplest solution is to disable sleep mode. I've been running macs in my studio for 20 years and it's always the first thing when I get a new computer. There's no need for it. I do enable the screen saver and a corner hot spot to turn off my screen if I need to leave for a bit but that's all you really need.
Same here since 2003
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.6 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-28-2021, 12:34 PM
JTC111 JTC111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 42
Default Re: Avid Carbon refusing to reconnect after sleep

I've never seen a studio computer optimization guide that didn't include disabling sleep mode. It baffles me that some people are resistant to it, especially since it provides no meaningful benefit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Carbon sidechain delay compensation 22002fede Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 04-23-2021 05:15 PM
Using Carbon with Avid Sync HD? akhafaji Pro Tools | Carbon 1 01-18-2021 12:03 AM
Avid Carbon Review in Recording Mag musicman691 Pro Tools | Carbon 5 12-06-2020 11:27 AM
AVID CARBON - the $3999 Eleven Rack replacement BCnSTL Eleven Rack 6 11-13-2020 09:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com