Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2013, 08:14 AM
lorenaguey lorenaguey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 3
Default SC48 pops when linking or un linking stereo channels

The weird thing about this is that we had a separate monitor desk, and the SC48 at FOH was causing a pop through ALL the monitors with the input faders down.

It also briefly mutes the desk. As in I had a super quick line check and didn't get around to linking stereo keys until after they started. Pop through the wedges and split second mute of everything at FOH. After the show was over for curiosities sake I unlinked to see if it would happen again, sure enough, another pop through the monitors.

This was with a passive split, one going into the mix rack, the other tail going into the monitor desk.

Is this normal on this desk? I guess I never noticed it before because usually my channels would be linked ahead of time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2013, 08:51 AM
Brent Lind Brent Lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 233
Default Re: SC48 pops when linking or un linking stereo channels

This is normal behavior, and the reason the linking function requires you to put the desk in "config" mode. Config mode is required for any function that may interrupt audio and is thus not a good idea during performance. The fact that it affected monitors is simply because it was on a passive split. An active split would likely have popped in FOH but not monitors. This is not to say a passive split is a bad thing, it's just a workflow thing to remember in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2013, 04:59 AM
Dsturzy Dsturzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 9
Default Re: SC48 pops when linking or un linking stereo channels

I have seen some SC48's that pop and some that don't. They have been in stand-only configs and also passive splits. Do we know why some pop and some don't? I checked and all were on the same firmware.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2013, 08:19 AM
lorenaguey lorenaguey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 3
Default Re: SC48 pops when linking or un linking stereo channels

Thanks Brent. Can't say I'm too pleased about that though. I've never been on another desk that does that, but oh well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2013, 11:38 AM
xcx xcx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: germany
Posts: 96
Default Re: SC48 pops when linking or un linking stereo channels

i recently had a show where i could run the mix via aes/ebu to the pa-amps. did not pop when stereo'ing and de-stereo'ing channels. btw, my console usually pops when linking/breaking pairs on analog outputs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-15-2013, 02:13 PM
Brent Lind Brent Lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 233
Default Re: SC48 pops when linking or un linking stereo channels

There are many variables and possible variations but what's important to remember is that you should really have all outputs muted when performing any functions requiring "config" mode. IMO it's preferable to mute beyond the console (i.e. at crossovers, system interfaces etc). Always better to be safe than sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-15-2013, 05:25 PM
Dsturzy Dsturzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 9
Default Re: SC48 pops when linking or un linking stereo channels

Brent on the desk that I was at that popped, it didnt matter if outs were muted or not. Still popped. In my opinion that's completely unacceptable. I am fine with audio dropping during my Pre show setup, but popping...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-16-2013, 08:11 AM
xcx xcx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: germany
Posts: 96
Default Re: SC48 pops when linking or un linking stereo channels

maybe unpatching outputs does prevent poping when linking/unlinking. but yes. the poping sucks a little to be honest.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo panner linking mattyharm Pro Tools 9 2 01-25-2012 05:41 AM
Stereo linking mono plugins? Che_Guitarra 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-31-2008 07:45 AM
Pan Linking of Stereo Tracks SBP ICON & C|24 0 02-07-2008 11:53 AM
linking either dynamics or plugins across channels protourman VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 05-30-2007 11:09 PM
LINKING TRACKS FOR STEREO LEVON Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 08-31-2002 09:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com