Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2004, 10:30 PM
BHeller BHeller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Minneapolis, MN 55105
Posts: 292
Default DIGI: PLEASE FIX COREAUDIO DRIVER + PEAK!

I don't know where the others using this setup are, but I talked to Tech Support and there are issues. They didn't seem to hot to address them, but the current interaction between the Digi CoreAudio driver and Peak is bording on unusable (at least on the all the systems I use).

On every system I've used (Digi001+AMIII), the Digi CoreAudio driver app has to be launched to set the clock source. You CANNOT set this in Peak Hardware Settings. Worse, when you set the clock in the CoreAudio driver the Peak Hardware Settings box does not update, and displays the wrong thing (always says internal, regardless)!

Therefore, everytime one make a digital recording, in order to record and playback with the correct word-clock, you have to QUIT Peak to change the setting and then re-launch, after which your setting MAY be right, but Peak will always display INTERNAL no matter what the CoreAudio driver is set to.

BIAS says this is a problem with the Digi driver and that plenty of other developers are having problems too (although they don't say what they are). This is the only problem yet at the facilities I am at, but its a KILLER!

This is truely awful and I simply don't understand why it can't get better.
Can't it be addressed? PLEASE???

-Brian @ MCTC
OS 10.2.8
Peak 4.01
Digi001
__________________
Brian Heller,
composer & engineer
brian@whattheheller.com
http://www.WhatTheHeller.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2004, 01:29 AM
Laurence w schuberth Laurence w schuberth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Newcastle NSW Australia
Posts: 91
Default Re: DIGI: PLEASE FIX COREAUDIO DRIVER + PEAK!

Cubase sx2 is the same
You select clock source ( I am locked to house word and lock digi via optical)
and it always comes up internal!!
I have posted this on the cubase site but got now answer and I dont want to go OT but also
after leaving sx2 for about 15 mins I have to go in and maually change the buffer back and forth\to keep things tight and in sync?????????
go figure that one out!
I still luvs both digi and steiny though


Larry
g4800 700 or so ram
motu mtpav serial with g4port
001
osx .2.7
kontakt
reason
coffee
no sleep
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2004, 04:46 PM
BHeller BHeller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Minneapolis, MN 55105
Posts: 292
Default Re: DIGI: PLEASE FIX COREAUDIO DRIVER + PEAK!

Well, good to know it's not just me. BIAS blames the Digi driver and maybe they're right. They said Digi has not responded to their questions about problems with the driver. This better not be the disaster it was under OS 9, where their driver was near-unusable. That might be enough for me to hit the eject button on this company.

Are you guys aware of this out there?
Digi???
__________________
Brian Heller,
composer & engineer
brian@whattheheller.com
http://www.WhatTheHeller.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2004, 09:52 PM
Kit Higginson Kit Higginson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 23
Default Re: DIGI: PLEASE FIX COREAUDIO DRIVER + PEAK!

I'm running a similar setup (OS 10.2.6, Digi 002r, PEAK 4.01) and have been experiencing the same problem. When trying to record from a digital souce while using PEAK I am unable to set the clock to anything but internal.

Digi, please look into the matter.

Thanks,
__________________
Kit Higginson
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2004, 12:40 AM
Muxlow Muxlow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 217
Default Re: DIGI: PLEASE FIX COREAUDIO DRIVER + PEAK!

How about "Digi, please fix CoreAudio", period?!? I can't believe more people aren't screaming at them for this mess they've made of the simple task of routing sounds in and out of a machine. Peak is just one of many things wrong with CoreAudio.
__________________
Mac G4 Dual 533
1.5g Ram
OS 10.2.8
Reason 2.5
ProTools LE 6.1
Digi001
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2004, 07:24 AM
skyhigh5400 skyhigh5400 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: DIGI: PLEASE FIX COREAUDIO DRIVER + PEAK!

I'm having same problems , but found a workaround. Trash Pro Tools preferences Go to Users > “your user name” > Library > Preferences and trash DAE Prefs, DigiSetup.OSX and Pro Tools LE 6.0 prefs. Then restart the CPU. Open audio/hardware settings in PEAK and then you can choose/HW Digidesign. This is a pain but usally works for that session only........If I shutdown I have to do it again..C'mon Digi.please fix this.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2004, 07:54 AM
s2n s2n is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 853
Default Re: DIGI: PLEASE FIX COREAUDIO DRIVER + PEAK!

Digi doesn't want you to use CoreAudio.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2004, 06:30 PM
Laurence w schuberth Laurence w schuberth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Newcastle NSW Australia
Posts: 91
Default Re: DIGI: PLEASE FIX COREAUDIO DRIVER + PEAK!

just a little whine, but I would love it if Digi took a little more intrest in
the core driver. I think its in their intrest because of situations like this.
I love Tools, always will! I run a couple of room here and all have pro tools
however my small writing room also uses cubase sx.
The new g5 is just too good to over look and I will get one for this room but then what do I do.
No pci so digi001 wont work, solution 002 easy, but core audio is stuffed, maybe another card then
but I loves pro tools.Now if core audio was hot it would be an easy choice and Im sure the digi domination would continue and grow because lets face it its the one app just about everybody wants,
oh and it works flawlessly with my other software well I must have it!!!
Just my thoughts
Cheers
Laswell
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-26-2004, 06:41 PM
BHeller BHeller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Minneapolis, MN 55105
Posts: 292
Default Re: DIGI: PLEASE FIX COREAUDIO DRIVER + PEAK!

Reply to the post above from Digi Tech Support:

>Hello,
>
>Thank you for contacting Digidesign Technical Support.
>
>I do not have them means to test and confirm this. *I will pass your
>concerns along to the appropriate parties so they can take a look at this.
>
>
>Best regards,
>Digidesign Technical Support


I am not holding my breath to be contacted (but you never know). This doesn't cut it. This is supposed to be a supported feature of Digi hardware, and the functionality of it is a factor in buying their product.

DIGI???
__________________
Brian Heller,
composer & engineer
brian@whattheheller.com
http://www.WhatTheHeller.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-27-2004, 02:46 AM
Laurence w schuberth Laurence w schuberth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Newcastle NSW Australia
Posts: 91
Default Re: DIGI: PLEASE FIX COREAUDIO DRIVER + PEAK!

Well thats a positive start.
I would love to know of others having core audio problems ( sorry digi )
just to know what the feeling is, post em if its good as well
Cheers
Laswell
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
digi CoreAudio driver still supports 8 i/o only. Why? Tobias Eichelberg Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-03-2009 02:03 PM
Uninstall Digi CoreAudio driver? rockridge98 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-07-2006 09:40 PM
Digi CoreAudio driver for MacBook Dany 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-02-2006 09:10 PM
Digi: What Benifit's are to Coreaudio Driver 6.7 ? SoundEng1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-15-2004 07:59 PM
Digi: CoreAudio Driver loud pop Mauro371 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-01-2003 09:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com