Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-16-2021, 02:20 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,062
Default Re: Mac Pro mid2012 12 or 6 core for PT2018

My 3.1 died yesterday so i brought a 2009 5.1 12 core 3.46 running OSX 10.9.5 and ProTools 10 HD. If i decide to upgrade in the very near future to HDX will this run ok in this machine.
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 5.1 12 Core 3.46hz Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-19-2021, 09:12 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,887
Default Re: Mac Pro mid2012 12 or 6 core for PT2018

As long as you keep the OS version that is compatible with PT10(or whatever version of PT you get), it should do fine as long as you don't try to update things much past PT2018(check the compatibility chart for the details).

The real question is: do you need HDX? With a computer that powerful, a used HDN card might make more sense(I know a few HDX users that have been moaning over issues, which is much of the reason for the new Hybrid feature). My commercial studio in Nashville ran HDN on a 12-core PC(hp820) and I had no problems recording 32 inputs at the 64 buffer setting, and that included 6 stereo headphone mixes done with AUX sends and a far amount of plugins(11 samples maximum latency)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-19-2021, 10:06 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,503
Default Re: Mac Pro mid2012 12 or 6 core for PT2018

Cheesegraters are always compatible with PT10, no worries about that. Only if you want to use more current versions you need to upgrade to metal compatible GPU and possibly firmware and CPU upgrade in case the cheesegrater is a 4,1 model.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automation Window in PT2018 oscar_wonderboy Pro Tools 2018 5 03-27-2020 06:21 PM
Session Import on PT2018 HD always crashes electrowerks Pro Tools 2018 5 02-24-2018 08:40 PM
Man Overboard! (will PT2018 interfere with Logic?) SupreGlu Pro Tools 2018 14 02-18-2018 10:12 PM
Dissapointed with PT2018 Edit Window MarceloBcn Pro Tools 2018 7 02-06-2018 06:24 AM
PT2018.1 - Disable Tab to MIDI note end? cshaw Pro Tools 12 11 01-26-2018 05:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com