Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2016, 11:55 AM
Drywsef Drywsef is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rosevile
Posts: 239
Default 12.4 CPU spikes with W10

Hello Everyone,
Ever since upgrading my PC to Windows 10, I have been having trouble with CPU spikes at lower buffer sizes (64,128), which was a very rare occurrence in W7. Has anyone had this issue or would be able to help me troubleshoot this?
Thanks in advance!
__________________
Win 10 - PT 2020.9.1 - HDX - Blue 192 - Prism Titan

i9 10900K, Asus Tuf Gaming Z490 Plus, Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB, NVIDIA 1070ti

OS/apps, sessions, and samples all on separate drives.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2016, 12:34 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,712
Default Re: 12.4 CPU spikes with W10

What interface? Does it happen with no click track in the session?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2016, 01:42 PM
Drywsef Drywsef is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rosevile
Posts: 239
Default Re: 12.4 CPU spikes with W10

My interface is a Prism Titan which is connected via ADAT to a blue 192 - HD Native. By no click track, do you mean having no "Click II" instance in the session?
__________________
Win 10 - PT 2020.9.1 - HDX - Blue 192 - Prism Titan

i9 10900K, Asus Tuf Gaming Z490 Plus, Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB, NVIDIA 1070ti

OS/apps, sessions, and samples all on separate drives.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2016, 07:21 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,712
Default Re: 12.4 CPU spikes with W10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drywsef View Post
My interface is a Prism Titan which is connected via ADAT to a blue 192 - HD Native. By no click track, do you mean having no "Click II" instance in the session?
By your description, you have a 192 as your interface, connected to an HDN card. The prism is simply feeding the ADAT input of the 192. I was indeed referring to Click II as it has been known to cause cpu spikes and -9173 errors in 12.x(the solution being to freeze or commit, and disable the Click II plugin).

Still not sure what's going on but I also have a 192 working fine here(tagged off an HD IO). Windows 10 is something I am still on the fence about. I have a drive with it, but do most of my work in Windows 7(Pro Tools 11.3)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2016, 11:29 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,601
Default Re: 12.4 CPU spikes with W10

Download and run LatencyMon to possibly see what's causing the issue.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2016, 12:57 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,424
Default Re: 12.4 CPU spikes with W10

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/c...m-Requirements
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2016, 02:43 PM
senghor senghor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Finland, Europe
Posts: 308
Default Re: 12.4 CPU spikes with W10

Hi!

I posted a thread on PT 12.4. My hard drive crashed and I can't recover it,

So, I am trying to find it on duc. Please, if You know where I can download it, I would be more than thankful. Or if You know someone, please pm me!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-08-2016, 09:22 AM
Drywsef Drywsef is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rosevile
Posts: 239
Default Re: 12.4 CPU spikes with W10

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Download and run LatencyMon to possibly see what's causing the issue.
Thanks for this... how long would you recommend I let this test run?
__________________
Win 10 - PT 2020.9.1 - HDX - Blue 192 - Prism Titan

i9 10900K, Asus Tuf Gaming Z490 Plus, Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB, NVIDIA 1070ti

OS/apps, sessions, and samples all on separate drives.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-08-2016, 09:23 AM
Drywsef Drywsef is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rosevile
Posts: 239
Default Re: 12.4 CPU spikes with W10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
Bob, are you posting this to refer me to the optimization guide?

Thanks!
__________________
Win 10 - PT 2020.9.1 - HDX - Blue 192 - Prism Titan

i9 10900K, Asus Tuf Gaming Z490 Plus, Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB, NVIDIA 1070ti

OS/apps, sessions, and samples all on separate drives.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-08-2016, 11:03 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,601
Default Re: 12.4 CPU spikes with W10

And here's a link to my other optimizations.

And LatencyMon should have instructions for its use.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU spikes grame99 Pro Tools 12 2 04-19-2015 12:38 PM
Spikes - what are they? Stig Eliassen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 12-14-2011 03:01 PM
CPU spikes with 003 Bill Mellow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 04-25-2010 04:37 AM
cpu spikes gdx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-11-2007 04:21 PM
Uh Oh, spikes ajazzie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-19-2002 10:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com