Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2021, 10:03 AM
Drywsef Drywsef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rosevile
Posts: 239
Default HDX CPU Spikes

Hello all,
Since switching from an HD Native system to HDX, I’ve noticed significantly more CPU spikes when bouncing a mix. This doesn’t make a lot of sense as my System Usage shows a finished mix usage around 20-30%. I have done the Avid recommeneded optimizations and set core affinity to reserve CPU 0 for OS processes. My DPC latency reliably tests under 200us with PT not running. Can anyone help me out with some insights or troubleshooting ideas?
Thanks!
__________________
Win 10 - PT 2020.9.1 - HDX - Blue 192 - Prism Titan

i9 10900K, Asus Tuf Gaming Z490 Plus, Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB, NVIDIA 1070ti

OS/apps, sessions, and samples all on separate drives.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2021, 01:37 PM
Drywsef Drywsef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rosevile
Posts: 239
Default Re: HDX CPU Spikes

I’ll add that this only seems to happen consistently during bounce to disk. Normal playback and mixing seems ok.
__________________
Win 10 - PT 2020.9.1 - HDX - Blue 192 - Prism Titan

i9 10900K, Asus Tuf Gaming Z490 Plus, Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB, NVIDIA 1070ti

OS/apps, sessions, and samples all on separate drives.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2021, 02:56 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,305
Default Re: HDX CPU Spikes

Surely you can realtime bounce if you can realtime playback without problems
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2021, 02:23 PM
Drywsef Drywsef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rosevile
Posts: 239
Default Re: HDX CPU Spikes

This seems not to be the case. While I can play back ok, I have to freeze just about every track in the session to get it to bounce properly.
__________________
Win 10 - PT 2020.9.1 - HDX - Blue 192 - Prism Titan

i9 10900K, Asus Tuf Gaming Z490 Plus, Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB, NVIDIA 1070ti

OS/apps, sessions, and samples all on separate drives.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2021, 02:32 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,305
Default Re: HDX CPU Spikes

Do you have the ignore errors during playback checked in playback preferences? Untick that and you know if you can playback you can also bounce
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-21-2021, 05:38 PM
Drywsef Drywsef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rosevile
Posts: 239
Default Re: HDX CPU Spikes

I have tried both ways. It seems to make no difference.
__________________
Win 10 - PT 2020.9.1 - HDX - Blue 192 - Prism Titan

i9 10900K, Asus Tuf Gaming Z490 Plus, Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB, NVIDIA 1070ti

OS/apps, sessions, and samples all on separate drives.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-21-2021, 05:40 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,305
Default Re: HDX CPU Spikes

Hard to guess what is the problem but you can always "print to track" id playback works and bounce fails


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-21-2021, 10:38 PM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,124
Default Re: HDX CPU Spikes

Have you tried deleting PT preference.
If that doesn’t help I would try to remove all the plugins from the plugin folder and intoduce back one at a time.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-01-2021, 10:11 AM
Drywsef Drywsef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rosevile
Posts: 239
Default Re: HDX CPU Spikes

Thanks, Chris. I will try that and report back.
__________________
Win 10 - PT 2020.9.1 - HDX - Blue 192 - Prism Titan

i9 10900K, Asus Tuf Gaming Z490 Plus, Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB, NVIDIA 1070ti

OS/apps, sessions, and samples all on separate drives.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-13-2021, 09:07 PM
nsureit nsureit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 52
Default Re: HDX CPU Spikes

I solved a lot of problems by disabling WiFi, Bluetooth, anti-virus, AVID Link and other non-essential apps operating in the background while I’m mixing. Of course, you can’t turn off WiFi if you don’t have an iLOK dongle.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12.4 CPU spikes with W10 Drywsef Pro Tools 12 12 09-07-2017 11:54 AM
CPU spikes. Help. melloj Pro Tools 12 6 04-01-2017 11:31 AM
Cpu spikes 12.5 stanonbass Pro Tools 12 6 04-03-2016 11:37 AM
CPU spikes with PT8 PTLExp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-04-2009 04:54 PM
If your having spikes..... req06 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-15-2006 11:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com