Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2013, 09:04 AM
novice12 novice12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Leeds
Posts: 3
Default Will updating Flash Player affect older version of Protools?

Can anyone help me figure out whether upgrading to the current version of Adobe FlashPlayer 10.3.183.50 will cause problems with the 2008 version of Pro Tools I use - LE7 v7.4?

If so, are there easy ways round the problem or am I better just to leave the setup as it is? (Pro Tools is the primary use for this computer)

I'm using an iMac 2.66GHz, intel core 2 duo, OS X v10.5.2

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2013, 12:09 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Will updating Flash Player affect older version of Protools?

Not that I'm aware of. But I would wait for a second opinion.

You DO want the latest or a later version of Flash as there are some vulnerabilities patched. I running the latest version with PT9 if that helps any. Although its obviously not PTLE 8
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2013, 11:57 AM
novice12 novice12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Leeds
Posts: 3
Default Re: Will updating Flash Player affect older version of Protools?

Thanks for the advice, I appreciate your reply - but I will wait for a second opinion! I guess if the newer Flash messes up PT7, I can return to the older version of Flash from a time machine backup?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2013, 12:27 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Will updating Flash Player affect older version of Protools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by novice12 View Post
Thanks for the advice, I appreciate your reply - but I will wait for a second opinion! I guess if the newer Flash messes up PT7, I can return to the older version of Flash from a time machine backup?

You might want to Google for any issues regarding that version of Flash and OSX and see what turns up. I think if there was a issue we would have heard about it by now.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2013, 12:31 PM
zoff zoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 215
Default Re: Will updating Flash Player affect older version of Protools?

Am I missing something here. What does Flash have to do with Pro Tools?
__________________
macOS Monterey 12.6 Intel Core i9 MacBook Pro(16,1) 2019, 32 GB RAM Pro Tools Studio 2022.9, RME Babyface Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2013, 01:03 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Will updating Flash Player affect older version of Protools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoff View Post
Am I missing something here. What does Flash have to do with Pro Tools?
Hopefully nothing. But it is Pro Tools
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2013, 12:56 PM
novice12 novice12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Leeds
Posts: 3
Default Re: Will updating Flash Player affect older version of Protools?

Thanks again both of you - I was just worried ProTools might use Flash in some way? I hope not too (and hopefully am being paranoid) but I'm just a bit wary of updates as my system is a bit old now! I'll let you know what happens if I pluck up courage to try...haha
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-03-2013, 02:00 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Will updating Flash Player affect older version of Protools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by novice12 View Post
Thanks again both of you - I was just worried ProTools might use Flash in some way? I hope not too (and hopefully am being paranoid) but I'm just a bit wary of updates as my system is a bit old now! I'll let you know what happens if I pluck up courage to try...haha
Maybe clone your disk or make a disk image and jump
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with acquiring an older version of Protools software Edleigh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-01-2008 09:07 PM
upgrading from an older version of protools LE cyberpiper 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-11-2007 11:24 AM
Help a noobie: Updating older version of Pro Tools Astar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-22-2006 03:25 PM
Real player & Flash Player through Digi002 stevegalante 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-15-2004 09:00 PM
Updating to Windows XP version of Protools Saul Goodman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-12-2003 01:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com