Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2008, 07:46 PM
MIC FIEND MIC FIEND is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default Which version of Pro Tools LE 7 is best for my older Mac G4

Hi Everyone- I'm a long time reader and 1st time poster. I'm looking to upgrade my current version of Pro Tools (6.9.2) to Pro Tools 7 or later so I can run the Music Production Tool Kit with Digi002 Interface. I know with my older Mac I will not be able to run the full 48 tracks and I don't really care so much about more tracks, I just need to be able to use the multi track Beat Detective and sound replacer parts of the MPTK so I can do some drum editing between my home and the studio that I work at.
My Mac is a Dual 1.25 GHz Power Mac G4 FW800 running Mac OS 10.4.3 with 2GBs of RAM. Is any one in this forum using Pro Tools 7 or later with the MPTK on this type of Mac with any success. I need a little guidance as to what versions of Mac OS, Combo Updates,Pro Tools or other updates that will offer the most stability for my system. My current set up runs the full 32 tracks with around 27 plugins per session. So I will need the newer update of Pro Tools to be able to hang with that.
Thanks,
Pete
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2008, 08:50 AM
Gothboy's Avatar
Gothboy Gothboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Monica, Ca.
Posts: 1,596
Default Re: Which version of Pro Tools LE 7 is best for my older Mac G4

Well, I'm not using the MPTK because I don't have it...but I am using PT 7.3 with a 002R on a dual 1.4Ghz. processor upgraded Gigabit ethernet G4 FW400 running Tiger 10.4.11 with little or no problems and plan on upgrading to 7.4 soon. I think for me having the dual processor is key. You might want to upgrade Tiger to 10.4.11 using th Tiger combo updater.
__________________
Apple Mac Pro 2.88 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core
16 GB RAM
Mountain Lion 10.8.5/El Capitan 10.11
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
Ableton Live 10/Presonus Studio 3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2008, 09:05 AM
SKI's Avatar
SKI SKI is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,188
Default Re: Which version of Pro Tools LE 7 is best for my older Mac G4

Actually in your case you may come out better trying to do the 002 to 003 upgrade if DIGI still gives you the free MPTK with the upgrade.

I would at least price it out compared to purchasing PT7.4 and the MPTK alone to see how much of a difference it would be.

I know you say you are looking to use specific parts but don't overlook that it may be a lot closer in price than you realize.
__________________
URBAN MUSIC-
(Hip Hop and R&B)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2008, 11:01 AM
shanabit shanabit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Home
Posts: 506
Default Re: Which version of Pro Tools LE 7 is best for my older Mac G4

Im using a PowerMac G4 Dual 1.42 with 2 gig ram.

Im running the latest Protools LE 7.4.2 and Leopard 10.5.5

cant run a lot of VST instruments here. I dont have the MPTK either
__________________
MacPro 8 Core,2.4, 14 Gig Ram.
OSX 10.8.2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2008, 11:43 AM
MIC FIEND MIC FIEND is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Which version of Pro Tools LE 7 is best for my older Mac G4

would any of you guys say that PT 7.3 running on Tiger is as stable as PT 6.9.2? my current system has had zero issues for me, do you guys feel the same about your PT 7.3 systems? Did you guys feel any performance boost or loss, or other issues you may have had after upgrading? sorry if i sound a bit paranoid, but updating a solid system i know works flawlessly. for something that may or may not work as good kinda freaks me out!
Thanks,
Pete
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools suddenly opens in older version RunAtTheDog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-30-2011 04:25 AM
Pro tools conflict with older version on 2nd HD julianlede 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-21-2009 03:09 PM
"older version of Pro Tools" error HearInc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 08-18-2008 12:11 PM
Help a noobie: Updating older version of Pro Tools Astar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-22-2006 03:25 PM
Older version of Pro tools harpdog123 General Discussion 7 07-25-2001 10:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com