Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2004, 07:35 AM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Computer woes/newbie needs advice

I had a computer built for my Digi 002. After receiving the computer, I was plagued with difficulty after difficulty, and after MANY hours on the phone with DD Tech support (and Waves Tech Support), it was discovered that the wrong hard drives were installed. Maybe one of you vets could offer some insight as to where this system is flawed.

Here's what I have:

Digi 002 Consol/6.1.1 PTLE software
Waves Gold Bundle
Auto Tune 3

Enlight Rackmount Case
Pentium 4 @ 2.8 GHz
1 GHz RAM
ASUS P4P800 Motherboard (Intel 856PE chipset, FSB 800MHz, Dual DDR 400)
Seagate Serial ATA 80 (OS)
Seagate Serial ATA 120 (audio)
Radeon Video Card w/ single DVI out
Lite-on CD-RW
Pioneer DVD-RW
Twin Mitsubishi 18" flat panel displays

I'm scheduled to have the system corrected this coming Thursday (2.5.04).
They said they're going to install non-serial hard drives, and that the Motherboard was fine.
They're putting a Western Digital 80 in for OS, a Seagate 120 for audio.
If there are other issues, It'd be great for me to know now, rather than later.

I'll appreciate any guidance on this matter.

Thanks!
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2004, 07:55 AM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,894
Default Re: Computer woes/newbie needs advice

Hi,

Quote:
I was plagued with difficulty after difficulty
Please give us more details. Your computer should be great for running the 002.
Here are my observations, other users w/the same mobo will sure comment...
1)a dedicated Firewire PCI card seems missing
2)SATA for system ( C:\) should be fine...in a non RAID configuration. Some people here also
use it for audio without problems, but I'd just stick that WD 80G onto a regular IDE bus, as
a master device.

good luck,
cheers,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2004, 08:16 AM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: Computer woes/newbie needs advice

[QUOTE]
Hi,

Quote:
I was plagued with difficulty after difficulty
Please give us more details. Your computer should be great for running the 002.
Here are my observations, other users w/the same mobo will sure comment...
1)a dedicated Firewire PCI card seems missing
2)SATA for system ( C:\) should be fine...in a non RAID configuration. Some people here also
use it for audio without problems, but I'd just stick that WD 80G onto a regular IDE bus, as
a master device.

I have a 3 port firewire card in there, but I'm not sure what brand. The guy who built the thing assured me it was approved.

My recurrring problem was when attempting to open a new session, I'd get a message saying "Could not create a new document. The system cannot find the path specified."

This even had Digi techs baffled, as they'd never heard of this particular error message.

Digi had me reload the 6.1.1 software, and the problem persisted.

It was through some investigating by the Digi tech guy that we discoved the serial IDE drive issue (forgive me if that's not the correct nomenclature, I'm VERY new to this whole world, having been a Roland VS guy for the last 3 years).

At any rate, It seems like the info was bieing routed to odd places on the HD's, as the waves stuff didn't load correctly either, and I couldn't get Sample Tank or Amplitube to open either.

I somehow wound up with a 2nd shipping of the Digi 002, as it originally had 5.3.2 software, and the Plug-in bundle was Amplitube, sampletank, D-Fi, and Maxim.

__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2004, 08:45 AM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,894
Default Re: Computer woes/newbie needs advice

EJ,

I'm by no means an expert, like some other users here...but this is what I'd do >>

*make sure to have XP SP1 installed
*remove all PT LE and third party plugins from system
*get that WD 80G drive hooked up as IDE master and dedicate it to session audio files only
*install PT LE 6.xx on your C: drive
*open the demo session ( on the PT install CD Rom ) ...once is runing fine, try to record
new session onto WD 80G drive
*if working OK, install plugins one-by-one, to make sure none are conflicting


cheers, and good luck...
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2004, 12:29 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Computer woes/newbie needs advice

Quote:
EJ,

I'm by no means an expert, like some other users here...but this is what I'd do >>

*make sure to have XP SP1 installed
*remove all PT LE and third party plugins from system
*get that WD 80G drive hooked up as IDE master and dedicate it to session audio files only
*install PT LE 6.xx on your C: drive
*open the demo session ( on the PT install CD Rom ) ...once is runing fine, try to record
new session onto WD 80G drive
*if working OK, install plugins one-by-one, to make sure none are conflicting


cheers, and good luck...

EJ,
I replied to your email this morning. I'd stick with a SATA drive (WD or Hitachi) for the dedicated audio drive and a regular ATA100 7200 rpm 8MB cache WD or Hitachi drive for system. I'm not a big fan of the newer Seagate drives and we have certainly seen our share of problems here with them. Check out the new systems that are being configured on the Best System for PTLE thread with current SATA drives. Should find them on the last few pages. The new SATA drives seem to be making a difference in performance now if configured correctly. We didn't see much performance enhancements with the original SATA drives, but the newest systems seem to be getting a great boost.
Also, you want the system drive to be the Master drive actually so I think that was a mistake above for a two drive system.

Good luck,
Allen
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-2004, 02:54 PM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,894
Default Re: Computer woes/newbie needs advice

Hello there,

Just go with Allen's advice...

>I was simply giving an example what was working for me. SATA system drive, then an IDE media HD on the primary controller, as master ...
Here's my PT Le computer :

-Antec black quite case w/350w pwr supply
-Asus A7V600 motherboard
-AMD 3000XP
-2X 512Mb Kingston Cas2.5 RAM/DDR 400
-Radeon 9200SE/128Mb
-Adaptec Fireconnect/IE1394/3port
-HD1;Maxtor 80Gb SATA;system
-HD2;WD 80Gb/8Mb ; Media
-HD3;external USB2/IE1394
-standard floppy/Plextor Premium CDRW
-XP home/SP1

Good luck....cheers,

__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2004, 04:37 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: Computer woes/newbie needs advice

Quote:
Maybe one of you vets could offer some insight as to where this system is flawed.

The funny thing is that Allan actually is a vet...
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2004, 04:43 PM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,894
Default Re: Computer woes/newbie needs advice



__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2004, 06:31 PM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: Computer woes/newbie needs advice

Quote:
Quote:
Maybe one of you vets could offer some insight as to where this system is flawed.

The funny thing is that Allan actually is a vet...
"bark, Bark" or "bang, bang" vet?

(and there it goes- I am now a disciple of hell )
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-01-2004, 09:30 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Computer woes/newbie needs advice

Quote:
Hello there,

Just go with Allen's advice...

>I was simply giving an example what was working for me. SATA system drive, then an IDE media HD on the primary controller, as master ...
Here's my PT Le computer :

-Antec black quite case w/350w pwr supply
-Asus A7V600 motherboard
-AMD 3000XP
-2X 512Mb Kingston Cas2.5 RAM/DDR 400
-Radeon 9200SE/128Mb
-Adaptec Fireconnect/IE1394/3port
-HD1;Maxtor 80Gb SATA;system
-HD2;WD 80Gb/8Mb ; Media
-HD3;external USB2/IE1394
-standard floppy/Plextor Premium CDRW
-XP home/SP1

Good luck....cheers,


Lemix,
You sure you have the media drive as master and the system drive as slave? Not sure that is possible as the OS needs to be on the master drive to boot usually. I haven't seen this config yet.

As far as the vet thing goes, it depends on what species I'm working on. If I'm working on horses it is bang bang.
Just kidding.
I was just remembering that far side joke of a veterinary student studying for final horse medicine exams.

Diagnosis: Broken leg
Treatment: Shoot

Diagnosis: Painful Abdomen
Treatment: Shoot

Diagnosis: Lame
Treatment: Shoot

Enjoy,

Allen
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie Advice ironfin ICON & C|24 6 08-20-2008 02:08 AM
Newbie needs some advice - but not what you think. I need... RiffWraith 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-10-2008 12:04 PM
advice for a newbie 40bends 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 12-23-2007 09:59 AM
Newbie seeks computer purchase advice canegri 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 08-02-2004 01:33 PM
OMS Woes!! (newbie) andrej770 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-27-2001 08:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com