Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2007, 08:40 AM
FINKSTONE FINKSTONE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 42
Default Mac G4 Workstation Compatability, Help and Questions!!!

I have got a G4 Mac Workstation from 2003 with OS X 10.2 , twin 160GB HD's and an unkown amount of RAM. I *must* purchase a new DAW and firewire interface before too long for it. I want Protools beause it is the best but have had some problems in the past with my mac-mini and three PC's. It seems to be touchy software and very tricky to stabilize.

Is this so with the Mac Workstations which are G4? It has twin Xeon processors. I couldn't find anything on compatibility on the Digidesign website specifically related to the mac workstation but will look again as soon as I am done posting.

Also, since I'll need to upgrade to 10.4 can anybody please recommend exactly how to go about doing that? I have experience with computers but not so much that with Macs. It has tons of multimedia software on it already and somebody recommended I make a 'Carboncopy' file by some service and a back-up if I upgrade OS or just upgrade the second HD, which I didn't think would be possible.

Thanks so much for any kind help and assistance!

DG
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2007, 08:56 AM
FINKSTONE FINKSTONE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 42
Default Re: Mac G4 Workstation Compatability, Help and Questions!!!

A-HA...

Ok, so this is a 'Mac Pro' with Intel-based processor? That seems to make sense, so the compatability issues are answered and the OS X Upgrade procedure is specificially laid out in the Digidesign pages.

Please, can somone verify for me that this is all accurate so I can go ahead and purchase PT 7.3 for my Mac Pro G4 Workstation with OX 10.4.9, Intel/Xeon processors using an Mbox 2 mini? A Mac pro is a MAC G4 Workstation, que yes?

Thanks:)

DG
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2007, 09:16 AM
FINKSTONE FINKSTONE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 42
Default Re: Mac G4 Workstation Compatability, Help and Questions!!!

duh ok

so i get on the mac and muy bro is wrong, it's actually dual power pc 1.42 ghz processors, says g4. so i gotta go back, didnt want anybody to post before i corrected
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2007, 03:08 PM
shanabit shanabit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Home
Posts: 506
Default Re: Mac G4 Workstation Compatability, Help and Questions!!!

Check my signature, working fine here on the G4 Dual 1.42 with 2 gig ram and 3 hardrives.
__________________
MacPro 8 Core,2.4, 14 Gig Ram.
OSX 10.8.2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Protools Workstation Questions. NEER Pro Tools 10 5 03-20-2012 11:29 AM
PT8 compatability questions GtrDude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-02-2009 10:20 PM
Compatability questions IzzyT 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-13-2006 10:01 AM
Old system questions for spare editing workstation Alécio Costa Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-18-2003 02:18 PM
New Mac compatability questions jaceever 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-02-2002 06:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com