Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2004, 12:08 PM
Joe Evans Joe Evans is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Posts: 1,020
Default Presonus Tube Pre and 002r

I have a Presonus TubePre and an 002r. I have run an XLR to 1/4" TRS cable from the Pre to the 002r. Does anyone know if I should set the 002r input to +4 or -10? Either way seems to get extreme results, but I would like to get the best S/N ratio by matching the out and in as close as possible. I can't find the info in the TubePre manual or on the Presonus web site. Thanks.

--joe
__________________
--joe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2004, 12:30 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: Presonus Tube Pre and 002r

If you don't overload at +4, then I would keep that setting. +4 gear going into -10 will be too loud. -10 going into +4 will be too soft.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2004, 01:27 PM
Joe Evans Joe Evans is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Posts: 1,020
Default Re: Presonus Tube Pre and 002r

Thanks. The extremes I mentioned was that it was very loud (almost no gain from the pre) at +4 and had to be turned to a very high level at -10 to get a decent signal. I think I should stay at +4 and just keep the gain very low. Does thaat diminish the sound of the pre being injected into the signal maybe? I am running a Rode NT1-A into the pre and it threw me off having to keep the level that low.
Thanks Cliffy_Boy!

--joe
__________________
--joe
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PreSonus Tube Preamplifier Help Big Fate 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-22-2011 05:27 PM
Presonus Firestudio Tube with PT9 nohayniunnick Pro Tools 9 6 11-24-2010 07:43 PM
presonus tube pre amp "tube" Edson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-19-2007 10:20 AM
presonus tube pre amp Edson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-18-2007 09:44 AM
PRESONUS BLUE TUBE gtrman79 General Discussion 1 07-14-2003 07:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com