Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2003, 02:09 PM
The Chinese The Chinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 603
Default Re: Protools 6.01 Sudden Quit/Crash....

tried JCC No help.
Anyone else?

-Todd A.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2003, 07:54 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Default Re: Protools 6.01 Sudden Quit/Crash....

I am not using v6 yet, but if you're confident you've tried everything (and I read it as you are), then I'll propose the following:

Do you have crashreporter enabled? If so, you'll have a log file of the crash located in Macintosh HD:Users:<your user name>:Library:Logs, and it will probably be named "Pro Tools.crash.log". You could post the log entry here and hope someone from Digi sees it and says "A-ha!".

If you don't have it on, here's how to do it.

I must say I'm glad Apple has this feature in OS X. In OS 9 you had to have MacsBug, which was arcane, involved user intervention, and if you didn't recognize it when it came up, you'd freak out.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2003, 12:09 AM
The Chinese The Chinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 603
Default Protools 6.01 Sudden Quit/Crash....

I'm having problems with PT6 suddenly Just quitting...Right to the finder. No error message, no restart message. I have tried repairing permissions, used disk warrior on my drive, Made sure everything is Mac HFS+, Re-installed my OS (10.2.3) to a clean drive. What gives?
Nothing I do seems to have any bearing on the problem...
what am I Missing?

-Todd A.

P.S.-Mirror door Dual 867. PT 6.01. Using firewire for session drives. Mix3 w/ 1 -888/24.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2003, 12:31 AM
The Chinese The Chinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 603
Default Re: Protools 6.01 Sudden Quit/Crash....

Ok, here's the latest-

Have now Re-initialized my HD. Re-installed the OS, redownloaded 10.2.3 from Apple. Re-installed that. Installed PT 6...And crashes. I dont get it. I'm pretty baffled now. this is starting to stink like a HW issue.
If anyone has any ideas, keep 'em coming.
-todd A.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2003, 12:40 AM
houser houser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 673
Default Re: Protools 6.01 Sudden Quit/Crash....

Upgrade to 10.2.5?
That's what we are testing 6.01 with.
Not on long sessions but it definitely works and is stable.
regards
Janne A.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2003, 12:47 AM
houser houser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 673
Default Re: Protools 6.01 Sudden Quit/Crash....

Jaguar cache cleaner?
http://versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/16494
just fishing..
regards
Janne A.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2003, 01:54 AM
S-pole S-pole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 46
Default Re: Protools 6.01 Sudden Quit/Crash....

We have the same experience. We have tried almost everything without any effect. Than we have changed one of the RAM DIMMs and it seems to be much better now. So it probably may be problem of incompatible RAMs. You can try it and let me know if it helps.

Pavel
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2003, 06:35 AM
undertone undertone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Europe
Posts: 149
Default Re: Protools 6.01 Sudden Quit/Crash....

Same problem here. Tried 6(.01) once, and all of a sudden the whole session and program wasn't there anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-21-2003, 04:36 PM
The Chinese The Chinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 603
Default Re: Protools 6.01 Sudden Quit/Crash....

Quote:
Originally posted by stormtrooperpez:
I've got the same problem, and this is after a complete clean reinstall of the system software and PT 6.01. PT just quits right to the finder. Seems to only happen when I have the workspace browser open, but I haven't verified this yet. Doesn't seem linked to any specific actions or operations.

Dual 800 G4
1.25 GB RAM
HD 96 I/O
PT 6.01
OSX 10.2.4
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Yup. This is it...I thought it might be the workspace browser as well...but then it quit when it wasn't open.
I'm gonna try RAM now.

-Todd A.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-22-2003, 12:49 AM
stormtrooperpez stormtrooperpez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 73
Default Re: Protools 6.01 Sudden Quit/Crash....

I've got the same problem, and this is after a complete clean reinstall of the system software and PT 6.01. PT just quits right to the finder. Seems to only happen when I have the workspace browser open, but I haven't verified this yet. Doesn't seem linked to any specific actions or operations.

Dual 800 G4
1.25 GB RAM
HD 96 I/O
PT 6.01
OSX 10.2.4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sudden quit during DSP reallocation David Schober Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-29-2008 09:31 AM
Recovering session information after sudden crash. homerg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-20-2006 09:02 AM
PT LE sudden crash on Mac OSX Eric Maia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-04-2006 10:35 PM
Sudden quit when adding MIDI track shadowbox Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 10-31-2003 08:48 PM
LE 5.2.1 Sudden Freeze when Quit DooDooDoo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-03-2003 05:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com