Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2011, 12:41 PM
Violins77 Violins77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6
Default Before I shell out 300$, I have a question

I just bought the "Pro-tools recording studio" wich includes an m-audio fast track, really basic card, but I don't need more as far as hardware is concerned. But I was so dissapointed to see that Pro Tools essential, wich was included with id, does not support additional plugins like Guitar Rig.

So I want the full version, but if I buy the whole Pro-Tool M-Powered 8 software, will my little m-audio card still be supported or I need to buy a complete other set of hardware ? I just want to be able to use the guitar rig plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2011, 01:14 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Before I shell out 300$, I have a question

Go here and look at the compatability chart for 8.0.4. (Ver 8). The fast track is supported. And you can get 8 for around $250. HERE.

Edit: (of course I didn't think about shipping to canada.) but should still be under 300.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2011, 08:15 PM
Violins77 Violins77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6
Default Re: Before I shell out 300$, I have a question

Thank you, I much appreciate your answer. So I'm good to go with the full M-Powered Pro Tools. I think I'm still gonna use essential to get used to it first.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2011, 01:30 PM
HK44 HK44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 3
Default Re: Before I shell out 300$, I have a question

Hey guys I just need to ask you a simple question, I don't have any information to this i'm new and just need to make sure of this, does the Pro tools M powered 8 is the same as LE 8 ? As i am getting confused with the versions a lot.

And I want to ask you are you having any problems regarding the Pro-tools recording studio as I have read in few other places about some sort of white noise they are calling it. Are you finding any of these problems as well.

Your replies will be much appreciated thank you !
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2011, 02:41 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,328
Default Re: Before I shell out 300$, I have a question

MPowered 8 is for use with m-audio devices and PTLE is for use with Digidesign/Avid Audio devices. Beyond than that they are very similar other than a difference in toolkit options.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VST Shell update The Lone Roger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-26-2005 09:30 AM
Have to shell out another $100 to use VSTs? joo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 03-24-2005 06:59 AM
multi vst shell kymera 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 11-11-2003 04:56 AM
for GRAPHITE about VST shell ongaku 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-07-2001 08:05 AM
vst shell/wrapper? mig 15 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-23-2001 10:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com