Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2011, 08:42 PM
mjhann83 mjhann83 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: wales
Posts: 13
Default soft-limiter on mbox 3 soft-limiter.. overdriven tape saturation sound

hi.. please can somebody confirm for me that tracking hot signals provide this classic overdriven tape saturation sound that it allegedly does maybe with a a/b comparison if they wouldnt mind... i imagine this would work particularly nicely with a bassline


"Mbox boasts the same professional-grade soft-clip limiter circuit found in our high-end Pro Tools|HD 192 I/O audio interface, so you can track much hotter signals without overloading the inputs and clipping."

"Soft-clip limiter lets you track hot signals without clipping—providing a classic overdriven tape saturation sound"


Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-06-2011, 09:03 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: soft-limiter on mbox 3 soft-limiter.. overdriven tape saturation sound

I have not tried the MB3 but I was never a fan of the 192's soft clip
even w/o pushing it close to clipping it dirties the sound in a not so good way
sounds nothing like tape to me

still better to record levels a little more conservatively
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-06-2011, 09:27 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,853
Default Re: soft-limiter on mbox 3 soft-limiter.. overdriven tape saturation sound

Have to agree with Craig here. Yellow is the new red on the meters. Until someone reports that the limiter indeed sounds good, I would only expect it to prevent an accidental over, and not actually use it as a tone/character device I record only just into the yellow(and always at 24 bit).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2011, 08:21 AM
mjhann83 mjhann83 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: wales
Posts: 13
Default Re: soft-limiter on mbox 3 soft-limiter.. overdriven tape saturation sound

cheers guys for your responses
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2011, 09:01 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: soft-limiter on mbox 3 soft-limiter.. overdriven tape saturation sound

Tracking a hot digital signal will cause unpleasant clipping. It is not the same as overdriving an analog source like a tape machine.

In digital, the signal will sound the same at most any level until it clips. In analog, you get gradual increases of distortion as the level increases.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
96 i/o Soft Clip Limiter ? KingFish Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 03-05-2009 11:43 AM
Soft limiter/meter for the older 888's? 8 channel? Chris Watkins Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-07-2008 08:48 PM
Soft-Clip Limiter in PRE or I/O 96 clusterer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 04-10-2005 05:21 AM
PRE and soft-clip limiter-feature??? clusterer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-02-2005 01:58 AM
Soft Clip Limiter on HD Brian Porick Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-23-2003 12:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com