Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2008, 02:57 PM
cinetj cinetj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 86
Default LImiter on audiotrack Vs Limiter on auxiliar track

Hi,


Please, tell me if this makes some sense.


If I put a limiter as an insert on my audiotrack, it acts less that if I put the same limiter with the same parameters ons an aux track (in that case, I bus the audiotrack directly to the auxiliar).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-11-2008, 07:16 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,805
Default Re: LImiter on audiotrack Vs Limiter on auxiliar track

if your send volume is "0", send panner is centered and set to post fader then it should be the same.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 9900k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2008, 11:15 AM
Mario C Mario C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 325
Default Re: LImiter on audiotrack Vs Limiter on auxiliar track

Inserted on your audio track, the limiter is PreFader (pre audiotrack fader).

Inserted on you aux track, the limiter is PostFader (post audiotrack fader).

Both methods have their uses.
__________________
Mario C
Metcom Studios
www.metcomstudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Distortion if limiter on regular track, but on on master track?? Obe1 Pro Tools 10 5 08-09-2012 09:21 AM
Track Input Midi Note Range Limiter? HighNote/LowNoteSet robinsonsdca macOS 0 11-08-2011 02:49 PM
soft-limiter on mbox 3 soft-limiter.. overdriven tape saturation sound mjhann83 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-07-2011 09:01 AM
Oxford Limiter vs TC brickwall limiter stargazer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-28-2006 12:32 PM
Waves L1 limiter vs. Focusrite D3 limiter??? Danny Caccavo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-01-2000 12:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com