Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #71  
Old 10-27-2022, 06:36 AM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 349
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

also interested in a Carbon Pre to compliment my Carbon interface and totally agree with what is stated above!
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 10-27-2022, 09:26 AM
MCorbin's Avatar
MCorbin MCorbin is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 195
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

Hey all!

I made mention in the Pre thread, but it's relevant here too.

I wanted to reiterate that we are committed to fixing the ADC issues. We've fixed over 15 critical ADC bugs this year, and continue to knock them down. They are often deep and complex and take time to tease out.

As you come across issues that are new or unique, please open cases on them so we can track them and ensure they are prioritized.

m
__________________
Mark Corbin
Avid
Sr Principal Product Manager
Professional Audio Systems

For immediate assistance:
Pro Tools & Eucon Surfaces - +1 888-456-3444
Venue Support - +1 978-275-2557

Find out how to create, manage, and edit cases online now HERE
It's fast, easy, and effective!
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 11-22-2022, 02:53 AM
shrootyruss's Avatar
shrootyruss shrootyruss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London UK
Posts: 7
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

Just to chime in that I too have found this issue running PT 2022.9 on my Intel chip, Monterey MacBook Pro. I thought that after 40 years of playing guitar I had lost my chops! Then I was trialing a version of Cubase and decided to record some guitar to test its latency and hey presto, I was back in the groove without having to edit my takes or shunt them all forward.

What fooled me was the belief that my £3.5K investment in Carbon meant it does what it claims and records with near zero latency and then plays it all back in time as recorded. Thankfully I found this thread after my Cubase experiment and now it all makes sense.

I tried setting the audition path outputs to "none"as the workaround suggested earlier and I also did track freeze on all the VIs running and another guitar record pass worked out ok. However, this is far from the dream I was sold of tracking live instruments into PT with no hassle. Its a fudge at best at the moment and as a long time PT user I know the fix could be years away (think video engine troubles).

At least the Carbon mic press sound great. Switching to Cubase for composition work until this gets sorted.
__________________
Mac 2010 2x3.33GHz 12 core Intel Xeon 64Gb, 10.14.6, PT 2022.9, Pro Tools Carbon, guitars, mics, cables etc.
MacbookPro 2016 2.9GHz, I7, Monterey
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 11-22-2022, 08:36 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 917
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrootyruss View Post
Just to chime in that I too have found this issue running PT 2022.9 on my Intel chip, Monterey MacBook Pro. I thought that after 40 years of playing guitar I had lost my chops! Then I was trialing a version of Cubase and decided to record some guitar to test its latency and hey presto, I was back in the groove without having to edit my takes or shunt them all forward.
There's a chance that 2022.10 will fix your problems. You can run it without uninstalling 2022.9 on a Mac. Might be worth a try.

Dominic
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Ventura 13.6.6, Pro Tools 2023.12.1, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 12-09-2022, 03:43 PM
jmkeane jmkeane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 28
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MCorbin View Post
Hey all!

I made mention in the Pre thread, but it's relevant here too.

I wanted to reiterate that we are committed to fixing the ADC issues. We've fixed over 15 critical ADC bugs this year, and continue to knock them down. They are often deep and complex and take time to tease out.

As you come across issues that are new or unique, please open cases on them so we can track them and ensure they are prioritized.

m
This is a pic of a 1k sync pop at the top of a stem recording. It's a Complete mess. I'm using internal busses to feed Auxes, outputting the Auxes to 5.1 Audio tracks using ADC on a Carbon interface. This is hardly a unique issue or a complicated routing scenario. It's a very straight forward DAW signal path for capturing audio stems using internal bussing. In my experience, the internal busses are the problem.

PT 2022.10 did not fix the sync problem. I'm using Monterey 12.6, Macbook M1 Max. I've had this unit for months hoping that these sync issues would be fixed but instead I have to spend time chasing a solution while interfacing with "tech support". Carbon does not work properly and at this point, a refund is imminent.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2022-12-09 at 2.44.57 PM.jpg (29.3 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 02-05-2023, 02:49 PM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 917
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

Bumping this thread.

Has anyone who had these problems found that they are resolved in 2022.12 ?

Dominic
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Ventura 13.6.6, Pro Tools 2023.12.1, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 03-11-2023, 09:14 PM
Guy McDude Guy McDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 370
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

FWIW,
running HDX and multiple HD16s, but we are having the these same Hybrid / sync/ delay comp isues. and the new software has not solved it here.

best,
Sean
__________________
Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Red Medicine Recording LLC
Sofa King Music Services
http://www.seanmcdonald.com
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 03-12-2023, 03:52 AM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 349
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

I've lost faith with them resolving these issues, keeping HDX on the classic engine and sticking with ProTools 2021.10 on Catalina, this is the most stable setup for my configuration. Also let my Update plan run out, will reinstate when all these issues are addressed..
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 03-12-2023, 12:50 PM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 511
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

In the same boat, sadly. Still hope a genuine leader will step up at some point to lead us out of this mess.

In the meantime, keep struggling with workarounds. And keep watching your back at all times.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 03-12-2023, 03:55 PM
Extreme Mixing Extreme Mixing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Van Nuys, CA. USA
Posts: 1,399
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

This is not a good thread to read. I just bought 2 carbon systems and will put them in service soon. Like a couple of days soon... Yikes.

Steve
__________________
Steve Shepherd
Extreme Mixing
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carbon Phase issues with hardware inserts alhardy Pro Tools | Carbon 5 08-10-2023 11:03 AM
Sync Problems with Carbon Downstream tomhartman Pro Tools | Carbon 7 07-01-2021 02:15 PM
Using Carbon with Avid Sync HD? akhafaji Pro Tools | Carbon 1 01-18-2021 12:03 AM
Radar II sync to Pro Tools ***Solved*** GuyPicks Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-13-2008 09:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com