Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2024, 07:03 AM
Virage Sonore Virage Sonore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Montreal
Posts: 8
Default Multiple licences on one account

I have questions about multiple licences on one account.
Hello !
I have a computer at the studio and my laptop. Up until last month, I had two licences : one normal subscription and one student subscription (bought back when I was still a student). Always been working with no problems, I sometimes have people working at the studio while I work on my laptop.
Last month, my student status was to be renewed and so I bought a perpetual licence. Since then, I can't have the two computers working together...
I don't even know which licence I'm working with anymore... I don't know where to check, is it Avid Link or is it iLok Licence Manager ?
The two licences are on the same Avid account and the same iLok account. It was the same thing a month ago when the two computers were working fine at the same time... so I don't understand.
On iLok Licence Manager, I try to activate the new subscription and it asks for a USB iLok ??????? How ? It's 2024, and before, it was all good and I didn't need the USB iLok...
What is going on ??!!!
HELP ! It's so complicated for nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2024, 07:20 AM
cvicente22's Avatar
cvicente22 cvicente22 is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Philippines
Posts: 463
Default Re: Multiple licences on one account

Hi Virage Sonore,

You may use multiple license simultaneously using a single iLok id as long as:

1. You're using multiple iLok keys for each license
2. You're using an iLok cloud on 1 license and iLok key for the rest of remaining licenses.

iLok cloud can only accommodate one Pro Tools License at a time so you will need to use iLok key on the other license if you wish to use another license available in your account.
__________________
Regards,
Charles
________________
To create an Avid Support Case, you may go to https://avidtech.my.site.com/avidsup...t-support-page
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2024, 07:25 AM
Virage Sonore Virage Sonore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Montreal
Posts: 8
Default Re: Multiple licences on one account

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvicente22 View Post
Hi Virage Sonore,

You may use multiple license simultaneously using a single iLok id as long as:

1. You're using multiple iLok keys for each license
2. You're using an iLok cloud on 1 license and iLok key for the rest of remaining licenses.

iLok cloud can only accommodate one Pro Tools License at a time so you will need to use iLok key on the other license if you wish to use another license available in your account.
Weirdly enough, a month ago I was using two licences on two computers, and I never had to use an iLok USB ? How come ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2024, 07:34 AM
cvicente22's Avatar
cvicente22 cvicente22 is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Philippines
Posts: 463
Default Re: Multiple licences on one account

iLok cloud should not work that way under a single account. It's only possible if you're using 2 different iLok ids where the licenses are activated on iLok cloud. Nonetheless you will need an iLok key if you wish to use multiple licenses on a single iLok account.
__________________
Regards,
Charles
________________
To create an Avid Support Case, you may go to https://avidtech.my.site.com/avidsup...t-support-page
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2024, 07:36 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,358
Default Re: Multiple licences on one account

Not at the same time you weren’t. You were mostly likely taking over the cloud licenses from one computer to the other. Or, you thought you were using two licenses but were actually only using one.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2024, 07:43 AM
Virage Sonore Virage Sonore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Montreal
Posts: 8
Default Re: Multiple licences on one account

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
Not at the same time you weren’t. You were mostly likely taking over the cloud licenses from one computer to the other. Or, you thought you were using two licenses but were actually only using one.
I was using another licence though, and there was no problem...! Same iLok account.

Is it because the old licence I was using on my laptop was a subscription and now it's a perpetual ??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2024, 08:34 AM
musiclee musiclee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 356
Default Re: Multiple licences on one account

this is my BIGGEST gripe, about Pro Tools licensing...

you CANNOT use 2 licenses from same ILOK CLOUD account at SAME time, ONLY 1 LICENSE
you need to create another ILOK cloud account, or shall i say a bunch more ILOK cloud accounts, 1 for each license you wish to use on ILOK Cloud
so Avid and/or PACE force you to use a physical dongles on all other account

it's ridiculous, and not good for businesses or schools, that need to manage licenses under 1 account,
you can buy the licenses and deposit in same account, but use them from ilok cloud , same time, NOPE!

again, please Avid, let us authorize our licenses on our computers, problem solved, for many of us. !!!

Last edited by musiclee; 02-26-2024 at 08:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2024, 09:05 AM
cvicente22's Avatar
cvicente22 cvicente22 is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Philippines
Posts: 463
Default Re: Multiple licences on one account

Quote:
Originally Posted by Virage Sonore View Post
I was using another licence though, and there was no problem...! Same iLok account.

Is it because the old licence I was using on my laptop was a subscription and now it's a perpetual ??
Can you DM me your iLok id so I can check it as well on my end?
__________________
Regards,
Charles
________________
To create an Avid Support Case, you may go to https://avidtech.my.site.com/avidsup...t-support-page
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Account Locked due to multiple unsuccessful sign in attempts alexthemusicbloke Licensing & Accounts 6 05-28-2023 09:21 AM
Manage multiple cloud licenses from a master account bgoff Licensing & Accounts 8 07-13-2021 07:07 PM
Multiple User Account problems dmsaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-20-2006 07:42 AM
Multiple Users Account Setup dmsaudio Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 04-16-2006 02:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com