Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2003, 12:10 PM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Amp Farm discontinued?

Somebody just brought this to my attention and it seems curious. Since I'm still agonizing over whether to buy Amp Farm, other plug-ins, or some outboard rack unit(s), I'm glad I noticed this.

Amp Farm appears to have vanished as a product. It's no longer listed in the Digidesign plug-in finder, or the Digidesign online catalog containing third party offerings. If you do a search, one of the links that comes up takes you to a page showing the HD pack promotion offerings, but Amp Farm is no longer listed. Go to the Line6 website, click on software, click on Amp Farm http://www.line6.com/products.asp?catID=11 and the link is broken. Echo Farm is still in the land of the living, though.

Amp Farm is gone without a trace, so it seems. I wonder if a new product is on the way, or if legal problems developed with licensing all the model brand names. If a new product replacement product is introduced, I imagine it will be Accel only.

Lee Blaske
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2003, 12:22 PM
Milamber Milamber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: CA
Posts: 277
Default Re: Amp Farm discontinued?

Lee,

That's a good question. It still shows up in the Digidesign Store:
Line 6 Amp Farm

There have been a few threads asking Digi to prod Line6 to update AmpFarm. When you compare the models available in the POD XT vs. AmpFarm, it's clear that Line6 wants to sell hardware. I hope they finally update AmpFarm to add some of the amp and cab models available in the newer PODs. And, of course, it should still work on HD and MIX.


Mark
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2003, 12:29 PM
Vaphoron Vaphoron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,539
Default Re: Amp Farm discontinued?

This is really interesting. I already own Amp Farm and I was going to upgrade to Accel so I would love it if they took that out and put something else in its place. I think it really is about time it gets an update though.
__________________
- Jason
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2003, 12:45 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,576
Default Re: Amp Farm discontinued?

Sorry for the confusion. Amp Farm has not been discontinued. Here's the scoop...

We found a specific problem with Amp Farm v2.3 for Accel systems on OS X, which we posted on the download page yesterday:
http://www.digidesign.com/download/ampfarm

As soon as we have a fix, a new version to replace v2.3 will be posted.

It looks like when we also removed the compatibility check mark under Accel on OS X, we forgot to turn the database item back on after editing. It's back online now:
http://www.digidesign.com/products/d...roduct_id=1001
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2003, 02:17 PM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default Re: Amp Farm discontinued?

thanks digi!!!

I use ampfarm every day and would be lost without it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amp Farm / Echo Farm Stop Passing Signal heavymoe Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-24-2009 09:00 AM
d24 + mixfarm + dsp farm - losing I/O on mix farm w/64 voic Chris Watkins Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 10-14-2007 09:39 PM
Amp farm 3 ilok auth. "AMP FARM TDM HD"? confirm! crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-19-2005 10:06 AM
'Classic' Farm vs. Mix Farm card - both have SRAM? Last Legend Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-15-2003 04:46 PM
Power of a DSP farm compared to Mix farm? Realistically. Heaven Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-16-2002 09:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com