Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2002, 07:13 PM
wolfhound wolfhound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 275
Default Pultec EQ

I recently came by a Pultec EQ--which I'd never had the chance to use before. After installing it I decided to I try a side-by-side comparison with the BombFactory plug-in: the difference was totally astounding! Has anyone else tried this? Has Bomb Factory? How can they claim that the plug-in sounds anything like it?!!! I was shocked.

My girlfriend didn't care so I had to post it here. Oh, well, on with my life.....

--wolfie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2002, 09:59 PM
gabriel_p gabriel_p is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 792
Default Re: Pultec EQ

I've never heard the real thing, nor can I afford it, I'm just a lowly LE user, but the Pultec EQ from Bombfactory works great with my voice. I like it.

Sorry I can't add anything useful to your thread. And that girlfriend thing, I understand. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
Take Care,
Gabriel.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2002, 10:28 PM
wolfhound wolfhound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 275
Default Re: Pultec EQ

That was my situation...I thought the plug was pretty good, altough not my first choice (usually Filterbank or Renaissance). However, the BF plugz are so hyped (and expensive) I thought I should offer up my 2cents....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2002, 11:46 PM
Felix Felix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,022
Default Re: Pultec EQ

is Universal Audio doing a Pultec for TDM? i think they are. maybe it'll work better. the BF Pultec is still not that bad for what it is.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2002, 02:00 AM
5down1up 5down1up is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 418
Default Re: Pultec EQ

would be strange if the plugins would sound the same way as the originals do , even if the new hardware releases dont match the original 100 % .

( and hardware is even more expensive ) .

if lexicon would sell the new tdm plug 960 that emulates the 960 to 100% or lets say even 70% for 2000 bucks , who would go for the real thing ???
only those people who can afford having the remote pictured on their homepages [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]

f.ex. i never heard the tdm virus , just the original , people are telling me that the sound is the same . so we all see , that its possible to adapt . i dont have a reverb plugin around that sounds like the 480 or even the " smaller " 91 etc. whys that ??? you guess . the 480 is already +20 years old ... can u believe that this is technical impossible ... i call it the COCA COLA syndrom [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

just a thought , peace
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2002, 08:04 PM
gabriel_p gabriel_p is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 792
Default Re: Pultec EQ

So what's the COCA COLA syndrom?. That's funny! [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
Take Care,
Gabriel.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-11-2002, 04:47 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Pultec EQ

I have compared the BF 1176 it was the same as the hardware 1176 ( I had 12 of them ) The Plug-in had a lot less noise than the orginal hardware LN1176. If you heard the same plug in through a 192 I/O, you may hear a big differance as the 192 blows away the 888/24.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pultec vs Pultec vs Pultec..... Magno Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-14-2004 11:51 PM
Anyone tried the new UA pultec EQ? (UA vs BF) Audiofarm Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-31-2003 08:34 PM
Pultec maintenance NYC wolfhound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-31-2003 10:48 PM
pultec Jeremy Darby Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 10-14-2002 09:02 PM
BF Pultec Dopamine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-11-2001 05:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com