Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2021, 11:20 PM
ReynaldoPena ReynaldoPena is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 164
Default Monterey Compatibility

Good evening,

Thank you all for getting me started with the Komplete Kontrol keyboard, this thing and I, are going to get along very well.

I recently upgraded to Monterey and moved everything to an external SSD (session wise) but I left the Pro Tools folder from the Documents in my Mac. I attached an image of where Pro Tools crashes during login. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2021-11-05 at 00.06.04.jpg (23.1 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Take care brush your hair,

Rey
https://r-e-y.com/

macOS Monterey
Pro Tools 2021
iMac (Retina 5K. 27-Inch, 2020)
Processor 3.6 GHz 10-Core Intel Core i9
3.6 GHz Dual-Intel Core i7
16GB ram
AMD Radeon Pro 5700 8GB
Shure SM7B Mic
Pro Tools | Carbon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2021, 01:30 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,948
Default Re: ⚠️ Monterey Compatibility

As you found out, Monterey is not yet supported
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-05-2021, 04:38 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,475
Default Re: ⚠️ Monterey Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReynaldoPena View Post
Good evening,

Thank you all for getting me started with the Komplete Kontrol keyboard, this thing and I, are going to get along very well.

I recently upgraded to Monterey and moved everything to an external SSD (session wise) but I left the Pro Tools folder from the Documents in my Mac. I attached an image of where Pro Tools crashes during login. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Some have if working. See here for example.

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/pro...st-impressions

Try trashing preferences and/or removing the plugins from the folder and seeing what happens.

I had a issue recently where the Phoenix II plugin caused my system to hand on the screen similar to yours and when I reemoved/downgraded it Pro Tools runs fine.

Stephen
__________________
Mac mini M1 2020 16Gb Memory- 256Gb Storage, Big Sur, Pro Tools 2021.10, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2021, 05:10 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,948
Default Re: ⚠️ Monterey Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Bond View Post
Some have if working.
Oh yes, PT works just fine on Rosetta, but 3rd party plugins is the problem here.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-05-2021, 05:21 AM
mattrixx mattrixx is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 923
Default Re: ⚠️ Monterey Compatibility

On my test system, I've kind of got it working, however, using Izotope RX9+ plugins via Audiosuite, takes out Pro Tools Ultimate (2021.10) Note, this is on Intel hardware with Monterey.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx

MacPro 6,1 6core 32GB / LogicProX / IzotopeRX9+ / SourceConnect / MelodyneStudio5 / WAVES Mercury / NI KompleteUltimate / ProToolsUltimate / RME UFXII / AVID S3 + DOCK / Barefoot MM27 gen2 / Barefoot FP01
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2021, 05:24 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,948
Default Re: ⚠️ Monterey Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattrixx View Post
On my test system, I've kind of got it working, however, using Izotope RX9+ plugins via Audiosuite, takes out Pro Tools Ultimate (2021.10) Note, this is on Intel hardware with Monterey.
Intel should be easier. I have a test system on M1 and while PT works nicely plugins are hit and miss.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-05-2021, 08:02 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,384
Default Re: ⚠️ Monterey Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReynaldoPena View Post
Good evening,

Thank you all for getting me started with the Komplete Kontrol keyboard, this thing and I, are going to get along very well.

I recently upgraded to Monterey and moved everything to an external SSD (session wise) but I left the Pro Tools folder from the Documents in my Mac. I attached an image of where Pro Tools crashes during login. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Bad idea.. Monterey will not be supported until early next year at the earliest.

G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2021.12 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid MTRX. DAD MOM, Dolby Atmos Mix Room, Mac Pro Late 2013 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Catalina 10.15.7
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-05-2021, 08:08 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,948
Default Re: ⚠️ Monterey Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
Bad idea.. Monterey will not be supported until early next year at the earliest.
Well, let's see.

Historically, since PT went to the year.month version numbering, there have been on average five updates per year. So far 2021 has only seen four. There may be 2021.12 coming, but of course, that is just an assumption.

There has been a 2018.12 and 2019.12 and 2020.12 so why not 2021.12 (just a rhetorical question)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-05-2021, 09:38 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 334
Default Re: ⚠️ Monterey Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReynaldoPena View Post
Good evening,

Thank you all for getting me started with the Komplete Kontrol keyboard, this thing and I, are going to get along very well.

I recently upgraded to Monterey and moved everything to an external SSD (session wise) but I left the Pro Tools folder from the Documents in my Mac. I attached an image of where Pro Tools crashes during login. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
The whole "session drive" thing is no longer really a thing. Modern internal SSDs, even when used for OS, applications and data, are so fast that using an external drive is unnecessary and actually presents additional risk, given that it relies on a controller and port and cable and external device. Even though Avid still recommend it, there is no longer any need. In the case of Monterey, it's an extra-bad idea, because Monterey currently has some problems with USB ports/hubs/drives. It may or may not affect you and your particular hardware setup, but it is an extra problem which could be avoided by using your internal drive.

Of course, if you are running out of space on your internal drive, none of this helps at all.

Dominic
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-05-2021, 10:24 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,948
Default Re: ⚠️ Monterey Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
The whole "session drive" thing is no longer really a thing.
^^ what he said.

This test machine of mine, a fully loaded M1 mac mini, has throughput of 3 GIGS per second. Back in the time of dedicated session drives and round-robin allocation transfer rates were sub 100 MEGS.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monterey is now available Obsidian Dragon macOS 64 01-11-2022 02:12 PM
M1 Max MacBook Pro Monterey, Kontakt Crashing Pro Tools JJRivers Pro Tools 2021 45 12-09-2021 07:33 AM
Has anyone tried Pro Tools 2021.7 on the Monterey Betas? off the wall macOS 28 11-17-2021 11:21 AM
Edit Window Misaligned in PT 2021.7 on Big Sur and Monterey as attached photos Melon Pro Tools 2021 6 11-01-2021 09:05 PM
PT 8 HD/PT9 Compatibility, 10.6.5 compatibility, OMF Logic9/PT9, iLok upgrade benosullivan Pro Tools 9 2 11-17-2010 12:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com