Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2005, 08:58 AM
nelsonmay nelsonmay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 146
Default External Firewire Drive is not a valid audio volum

I hav a new G5 and am a week new to a MAC. I have PT 6.9.2 on OS Tiger 10.4.2. I have tried everyway possible to make a new session on the external drive. the OS sees it and I can access the drive.

In PT....

I get the error Audio drive can't be designated as an audio record volume because it is not a valid audio drive. I went in "windows" in PT, accessed the workspace option.Under the "A" column I can't change the letter from "T" to "R". Again I get the error message. there are a lot of how to's in the answerbase, but they are talkng about having to rip out folders and do re-installs on the OS. I am afraid to go that far with a new MAC.

Does anyone have an easier or more consise method?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2005, 10:08 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: External Firewire Drive is not a valid audio volum

Did you read the 4th thread from the top, called "Audio Record or Playback Volume Error Info"?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2005, 10:23 AM
nelsonmay nelsonmay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 146
Default Re: External Firewire Drive is not a valid audio volum

OK, I can't verify or repir the disk. It was used on a PC with PT befoe I switchedto the MAC. I am going to try to exhaust all opetion befoere I reformat it because I have so much material stored on it. Old Sessions etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2005, 11:14 AM
olddaddymix olddaddymix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 20
Default Re: External Firewire Drive is not a valid audio volum

Go to disk utility. Click on repair. At this point you are getting ready to format the drive. Format and then try starting a new project. I had this same problem when i first started.
Good luck!

Olddaddymix
Monster Baby Music
powerbook G4 1.33
768 GB ram
MBox
Pro Tools LE 6.7
Lacie 160Gb Firewire HD.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2005, 12:09 PM
mattshort mattshort is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 24
Default Re: External Firewire Drive is not a valid audio volum

Sometimes this simple fix is overlooked. In the systems preferences under energy saver>sleep, make sure the 'Put hard disk(s) to sleep when possible' box is unchecked and set both sliders to never.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
drive cannot be disignated as audio playback/recording volum jboyer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-10-2008 08:19 PM
drive cannot be disignated as audio playback/recording volum jboyer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-10-2008 08:03 PM
External Firewire Drive is not a valid audio volum nelsonmay 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-29-2005 08:58 AM
Firewire drive not "valid audio drive" DaleC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-04-2005 03:04 PM
Updated to 5.1...now firewire drive "not valid audio drive"" blink 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 06-11-2001 06:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com