Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2005, 01:53 AM
DaveCarlock DaveCarlock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Woodland Hills, CA USA
Posts: 341
Default PT freezing up in OSX

Set Energy Saver to never all around, but still getting a screen saver--can't figure THAT out....

Maybe that's why?

It freezes on the screen saver sometimes, but also when editing, playing back. No error message, just freezes and keeps playing.

Any ideas??

Thanks for your help,

DC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2005, 02:08 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,740
Default Re: PT freezing up in OSX

Energy Saver and Screen Saver are two entirely different things. Look closer in your System Preferences.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2005, 11:21 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: PT freezing up in OSX

Disable all screen savers in System Preferences.

What version of Pro Tools do you have? Try updating to the latest CS Version.

regards,
Digidesign Technical Support
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-2005, 12:27 AM
DaveCarlock DaveCarlock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Woodland Hills, CA USA
Posts: 341
Default Re: PT freezing up in OSX

DigiTechSupt,

Thanks for the quick response. I didn't see any instructions to disable screen savers--don't want one anyhow! I will update to cs8 tonight. I reformatted drives to be safe, HFS+ and journalling off. Throwing out volume.ddb files at all turns.

QUESTION: what about these cache files that show up in the Digidesign Database folders next to the volume ddb files? Should I trash these too or leave them?

Tweakhead--thanks for the reminder. I'll be an OS X-pert soon.

Like Beck wrote: "Things are gonna change, I can feel it..."


DC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 freezing ericleed Windows 10 08-14-2012 03:19 PM
It's freezing out here Red Raven Audio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 06-01-2011 02:59 PM
Pro tools SLOW, and Freezing then continuing, then freezing again DJX-RAY 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-09-2011 08:52 AM
PT Freezing Up gregesme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-03-2007 03:41 PM
Freezing! prodgod76 Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 11-18-2000 05:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com