Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2006, 10:12 AM
prockmat prockmat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Chicago, Il
Posts: 49
Default Bad data while translating MIDI chunk list

A few days ago I did a lot of editing to a MIDI piano track- tempo changes, quantizing parts, etc... Today when I came back to continue working on the same session, I recieved this message: "Could not complete your request because bad data was encountered while translating MIDI chunk list." Because of this, I am unable to open the session. I opened a new session and tried to import the tracks one by one, thinking this might get me around which ever "bad MIDI chunk" there was, but no luck. I can't even import the audio tracks that were recorded, or even any aux tracks involved with the session. All of the backup sessions give me the same message. The only thing I can think of to do next is to import the audio files and reassemble the session that way (thankfully the song is still in simple enough stage to be able to do so) but I would really like to keep the MIDI tracks and edits (especially the tempo map) if possible. And yes, I've trashed prefs and restarted, ran disk utility on the drive and all that... other sessions with audio and MIDI open fine- it appears this session is the only one affected.

Any ideas or suggestions?

Running PT 7.0 LE on a Dual 1GHz G4 with 10.4.7
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2006, 10:37 AM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: Bad data while translating MIDI chunk list

Did you happen to have auto back-up on?
It is HIGHLY suggested to do so.

I have had this happen before, and the backup was the resolution. Importing can work, it just takes patience and a bit-by-bit, crumb-by-crumb workflow.
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2006, 10:55 AM
prockmat prockmat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Chicago, Il
Posts: 49
Default Re: Bad data while translating MIDI chunk list

Yes, auto-backup is on and all of the auto-backup files have the same issue. I've checked all of them. I did a "save as" at one point, and it seems like everything from that point is messed up. Unfortunately, the session before the "save as" only has the basic midi recording (pre-edit)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2006, 11:11 AM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: Bad data while translating MIDI chunk list

Wow. Yeah, I have experienced this as well. Unfortunately, I had to go back to an earlier, unedited save. I will rack my brain for an instance when I did not, but I personally dont recall another way out
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DATA LOST,MIDI CHUNK LIST,SONG DATA IS GONE!!!!!!!!!??? gdx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-25-2008 08:52 AM
Help-Bad Data Midi Chunk List PhilBuckle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 25 04-10-2008 06:06 PM
Translating Midi Chunk List Error ( Making people paranoid ) dreamgroove Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 05-28-2007 08:23 AM
bad data enountered while translating midi chunk list... HELP! jkriske 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-04-2002 08:22 PM
"bad data encountered while translating midi chunk list" diigi wizards help!! jkriske 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-02-2002 12:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com